HIST 320: The Soviet Union

"The Cold War International History Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War. Through an award winning Digital Archive, the Project allows scholars, journalists, students, and the interested public to reassess the Cold War and its many contemporary legacies." -https://www.wilsoncenter.org/program

The Europeana Collections portal provides access to wide variety or sources from various European libraries.

This is a portal to primary source collections from the European Countries. This set of documents focus on the Russian history from the ancient time to the present.

"The Cotsen Children's Library is a major research collection of rare illustrated children's books, manuscripts, ephemera, writing books, games, maps, original artwork, prints, and educational toys from the 15th century to the present day in over forty languages. The collection has major holdings of materials in the English, Chinese, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Russian, Scandinavian languages. Also represented are Albanian, Arabic, Korean, and North American indigenous languages." - https://dpul.princeton.edu/cotsen/about/the-cotsen-children-s-library

"From the first newspapers established by Peter the Great to the fall of the Romanovs, the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history. From Peter the Great’s founding of the Russian empire, through the empire’s expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between. - https://gpa.eastview.com/crl/irn

"Princeton’s most intensive collecting foci in Slavic are Russian and Soviet literature; performing arts in Russia and the Soviet Union; Russian and Soviet visual culture; political, social, and intellectual history of Eastern Europe, Russia, and the other territories of the former Soviet Union, including the history of science and pseudoscience; Soviet illustrated periodicals; and contemporary politics and society." - https://dpul.princeton.edu/slavic/about/princeton-slavic-collections

"Primary sources on the relationship between Britain and Russia / the Soviet Union, dating from the Russian Revolutions of 1917 to Stalin's final consolidation of power in 1928. The documents are from the archive collections of the Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick." - https://cdm21047.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/russian

This "is a multi-media archive of primary materials designed to introduce students and the general public to the richness and contradictions of Soviet history. It provides a cross-section of Soviet life in seventeen different years, following the title of a beloved television spy serial from the seventies. Each module covers politics, society, culture and economics, so that users might experience a given time through the words, sounds and sights that a common Soviet citizen would have encountered." - https://soviethistory.msu.edu/about/

"The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA, http://www.marxists.org/) is an all-volunteer, non-profit public library, established in its present form in 1998." - https://www.marxists.org/admin/intro/main.htm

"The online collection comprises visual images of photographs, posters, paintings, banners, sculptures, chinaware, pins, etc. relating to Stalin/ism." - https://digital.library.pitt.edu/collection/stalinka-digital-library-staliniana

"This collection of photographs of daily life in the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics is drawn from the personal papers of Robert L. Eichelberger and Frank Whitson Fetter, two ordinary Americans who found themselves in an extraordinary place and time." - https://repository.duke.edu/dc/esr#about-collection

"This collection contains materials documenting religious persecution under Communist regimes. It contains rare and one-of-a-kind photos, books, journals, transcripts, and documents." - https://digitalcollections-baylor.quartexcollections.com

"Documenting the wartime viewpoints and diverse political sentiments of the twentieth century, the Poster Collection has more than one hundred thousand posters from around the world and continues to grow. Thirty-three thousand are available online." - https://www.hoover.org/library-archives/collections/posters

"This collection of 20th-century Russian posters spans almost the entire history of the Soviet Union (1917-1991). It can be divided into three main series, each representing distinct eras in the history of Communist political advertising. " - https://repository.duke.edu/dc/russianposters

"Widener Library's collection of Slavic posters presents a vibrant and diverse image of the region during one of the most turbulent periods in its history." - https://library.harvard.edu/collections/slavic-poster-collection

"With the Russian Revolution of 1917, for the first time in history an entire nation is governed by a communist system. The posters from the first years of this government show revolutionary zeal and optimism of building a new society." - https://iisg.nl/exhibitions/chairman/sovintro.php

"The Woodburn Collection of around 70 posters issued between 1919 and 1930. A few relate to the Russian Civil War, but most deal with economic and social issues of the 1920s. Brought back from the Soviet Union by Scottish Labour MP Arthur Woodburn after his visit there in 1932." - https://digital.nls.uk/soviet-posters/archive