Skip to main content

Remote Library Resources and Services for Students: Oxford College Library

This guide contains all relevant library resources and information for Oxford College undergraduates working remotely.

Virtual Library Hours

Sunday: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm

Monday-Friday: 8:00 am-8:00 pm

Saturday: 12:00 pm-8:00 pm

Remote Research Support

Oxford Library Team

 Remote Resources and Services

 Get Help Online

Access to Emory University databases, eJournals, and our large collection of digital books and reference tools will continue to be available online. Visit the Oxford Library homepage or your class research guide for links to library research resources. If you have any questions about navigating Oxford's library resource, contact a librarian for a library research consultation!


 Research Consultations

Library Research Consultations are available remotely via Zoom video conferencing or by e-mail, text, or chatTo schedule a Zoom video conference meeting with a librarian for research assistance, including archives consultations, book a research consultation appointment with a librarian through the Oxford Booking Portal. If you do not see an appointment time in the Booking Portal which works for you, please email us and we will gladly work with your schedule and time zone to accommodate you.


 Online Materials and Tools

The Emory Libraries offer a vast array of digital resources that are available remotely. A few examples are listed below.

  • discoverE (catalog)
    Use the filters on the left hand side of the screen to see only ebooks, streaming audio or video, and other online resources. You can also search for e-books directly here:
    • JSTOR E-Books (temporarily expanding, search at JSTOR)
    • Project Muse (see note above about free access to non-owned content, search directly at Project Muse)
    • Harvard Business Review business e-books
  • Articles & Research Databases
    We have hundreds of databases that provide access to digital articles, video, and more!
  • FREE ONLINE TEXTBOOKS
    See the "Accessing Free Online Books" tab above for a list of freely available books. This list continues to grow, check back often for more content. 
  • Documentaries and Films Online 

    Use the following for streaming services: Kanopy for a variety of films including documentaries and biographies; Naxos Video Library for access to opera, classical music, ballet, and concerts;  Academic Video Online and Film Platform for national and international documentaries; Ambrose Video for BBC Shakespeare; and SWANK Digital Campus for Course Reserves. Contact Library Staff with any questions.

  • Connect from Off Campus
    The vast majority of library resources can be accessed off campus by connecting to them through library webpages like Databases@Emory or eJournals@Emory using your Emory NetID and password. View the Connect from Off Campus webpage for more information.
  • Oxford College Archives
    The library's digital archives are always available, and Oxford College Library staff will continue to provide limited remote archives and special collections services, including answering reference questions and fulfilling research requests. Please contact oxarchives@listserv.cc.emory.edu for assistance.
  Interlibrary Loan

We can electronically deliver journal articles from other libraries directly to you at no charge. But first be sure to check the Online Resources on the left side of this page. Many publications have become freely accessible during the Covid-19 crisis.

 Accessing Free Online Books

  • Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.
  • Library of Congress' Open Access Books Program: https://www.loc.gov/search/?fa=partof:open+access+books
  • VitalSourceYou can create an account at VitalSource using your Emory email address (they will send you a confirmation email to verify!) and access many textbooks online, including many that are required for your classes.
  • RedShelf: https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/

 Accessing Course Software 

Here is a list of freely available, course-specific software which you can download to your personal laptops and desktops at no cost to you. This is the same software available on all Oxford Library MacBooks and iMacs. Follow the hyperlinks below to access the software downloads.

If you have issues installing this software, or questions about additional software, please contact the Oxford Library at ox-librarystaff@listserv.cc.emory.edu. Please include details and screenshots of any error messages.

 Returning Materials

Books and media, including Interlibrary Loan materials, should be returned when the library reopens. We understand that this is a special situation, and special considerations have been made as follows:

All due dates for materials currently on loan from any Emory library will be extended through May 11, 2020. Patrons are asked to keep any items now in their possession until further notice. All fines and late fees incurred between March 11 - May 11, 2020 will be waived.

Please email OX-LIBRARYSTAFF@LISTSERV.CC.EMORY.EDU for questions or additional assistance. 

 Frequently Asked Questions 

View the Oxford Library's FAQ page here: http://oxford.libanswers.com/search/

Still do not see an answer to your question? Contact us at ox-librarystaff@listserv.cc.emory.edu.

 Contact Us

Please contact the Oxford Library if you have any questions about library services or problems accessing resources.

E-mail: ox-librarystaff@listserv.cc.emory.edu

Chat: http://oxford.libanswers.com/

Loading ...