Skip to main content

WHSC Library Phased Reopening and Remote Services

On Site Appointments

As of Monday July 6th, the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library is open by appointment only to Emory graduate students and faculty who have registered to return to campus. (Clearance will be verified by library staff prior to approving the appointment.) Entrance requires Emory card swipe access into the library.

Appointment hours are available between Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 7 pmUsers are limited to only one appointment per day for any of the following activities:

Activity Maximum Duration Advance Booking Maximum Days in Advance
Open Study Space* 2 hours 24 hours 7
Printing 1 hour 24 hours 7
Scanning 1 hour 24 hours 7
Specialized Software Lab 2 hours 24 hours 7

*Study rooms are not available at this time.

 

Appointments must be booked online at https://emory-hsc.libcal.com

Non-Emory members of the public are not allowed on campus at this time.  Please consult the Return to Campus plan for updates.

For further assistance with appointments, please contact Ask a Librarian or call our Information Desk at 404-727-8727.

Research Services & Historical Collections

Health Sciences Informationists

We are providing virtual reference and research services, Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm and Saturday and Sunday, 9am to 6pm. Please contact Ask a Librarian with any questions related to research or instruction support. All queries will be routed to the appropriate person. You may also reach out to individual informationists to schedule a consultation via Zoom.

For other WHSC Library staff please see our library directory.

 

Historical Collections

Historical Collections currently provides remote research services to facilitate access to the collection (staff will examine or scan materials on your behalf).  Beginning August 19, 2020, Historical Collections will be available for research by appointment only on Mondays and Tuesdays from 10am to 4pm.

To schedule an appointment or for any other queries, please contact Historical Collections staff via email at historical.collections@emory.edu.

On Site Safety

  • All library users are expected to thoroughly sanitize their area before and after use by applying sanitizer (70% alcohol gel) to a paper towel and thoroughly wiping the table and equipment that they use. Paper towels and sanitizer are available throughout the library.
  • Emory Building and Residential Services are thoroughly cleaning high touch areas in the library throughout the day in addition to applying a sanitizing spray daily.
  • Library staff are sanitizing computers, printers and scanner each evening.
  • All library materials are quarantined for 48 hours before delivery to users.

For more information on Emory's safety plan, click here.

Library Instruction

We are offering our library-sponsored workshops via Zoom. Please refer to our workshop calendar.

To request library instruction to support a specific class or assignment, please send a message to Ask a Librarian. 

Online Teaching Resources

Course Reserves

Online Course Reserves enable instructors to make course materials readily available to their students.  Upload links and scans, and place requests through the course reserves online system. You can also send requests to Ask a Librarian Our informationists can assist you in finding online versions of physical books or replacement readings. We currently have limited availability to scan physical documents from our library collection.

Remote access to textbooks and assigned readings 

The rapidly changing environment has meant that some of our students have found themselves without their textbooks and course materials as Emory transitions to remote teaching and learning. We have options for faculty and students to access textbooks and other learning materials needed to successfully complete the semester. Options for Emory students who no longer have their textbooks

Copyright Considerations

Staff members and librarians at Emory Libraries are working hard to support instructors’ needs for resources and information as they rapidly shift to an online teaching environment.
Information presented here is meant to proactively address questions concerning copyright and teaching online.

Canvas 

Canvas and Canvas support, and workshops including Canvas Essentials for Remote Teaching, remain available. Visit Canvas Support for more information.

Online Materials and Tools

The Emory Libraries have many digital materials available for you, and we provide guidance on how to more easily connect from off-campus and developed instructions on browser plugins available to the Emory community that make it easier to identify Emory digital resources.

Databases

You can still access Emory's rich array of research databases while you are teaching remotely. In addition to our most frequently used health science databases, Emory Libraries licenses over 1,000 databases to support teaching and research. Use Databases@Emory to search for a relevant database by title, subject or database type. Many of our databases contain full-text journal content and include our FindIt@Emory icon that links to full-text.

EJournals

The eJournals A-Z list provides a list of all electronic journals licensed by Emory Libraries. To access the full content of many of our subscribed and licensed journals, you will need to authenticate as an Emory user using your netID and password. Either go through the A-Z page, or use the Emory proxy resolver bookmarklet (2nd box down) to reload the webpage.

LibKey Nomad 

LibKey Nomad is a free browser extension for Google Chrome that makes identifying resources and logging in to use them easier. Once it has been installed, the LibKey icon pops up on pages for electronic articles that are available through Emory. 

Borrowing Information

Document Delivery of Emory-Owned Items

Current Emory students, faculty and staff may request electronic delivery of book chapters and journal articles from the Emory Libraries collection. Requests in compliance with fair use guidelines will be scanned and delivered as pdf files via your ILLiad library account.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) of Non-Emory Items

Current Emory students, faculty and staff may request electronic delivery of book chapters and journal articles from other libraries. Requests will be delivered as pdf files via your ILLiad library account. Please bear in mind that there may be considerable delays with the delivery of materials that must be scanned.

Renew Books Online

Library materials owned by Emory Libraries may be renewed conveniently online by logging into your Emory Library account. View the “Loans” section to see a list of materials currently checked out to you. Simply select “Renew All” or renew individual titles as needed. You may also email Ask a Librarian for assistance with renewing items.

Borrowing Physical Items

Library stacks are closed, however physical items may be requested for contact-free pick up. To request an item, please follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Library Catalog (DiscoverE) and sign in with your Emory NetID in the upper right corner.
  2. Search for the item you want and click on the title.
  3. Click on the Locate/Request Item tab.  Click on Request and fill in the required fields. Set the Pickup Location to Woodruff Health Sciences Ctr.
  4. When the item is available for pick up, you will receive an email notification.
  5. The item will be placed in a labelled bag on a cart in the outer vestibule of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library.  (All physical items are quarantined for 48 hours prior to delivery.)
  6. Items may be picked up Monday – Friday 8am to 7pm

Returning Materials

Due dates for materials currently on loan from any Emory library have been extended through September 1, 2020. All fines and late fees incurred between March 11th and September 1st will be waived.

Returning Books:

  • Books may be returned to the cart in the outer vestibule of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library Monday – Friday 8 am – 7 pm. (1462 Clifton Rd.)
  • 24 hour return access is available at the book drops are located on either side of the main entrance of the Woodruff Library.  (Directions
  • If you are not in the Atlanta area, you may self-ship the items using a courier of your choice that offers package tracking capabilities. Please be sure to include your name and contact information and use the following address: 

Attn: Stacks Department  
Robert W. Woodruff Library 
Emory University 
540 Asbury Circle 
Atlanta, GA 30322 
404.727.6873 

  • If you reside outside of the Atlanta area and face a financial hardship that impacts your ability to return library materials, please complete the following Request for Assistance form and a staff member will be in touch to discuss assistance available for the return of library materials. 

Please email email Ask a Librarian for further assistance.

Contact Us

Have other remote needs? Contact us using Ask a Librarian.