Evolutionary Medicine (ANT 334)

Places to Start

Web of Science
A GREAT place to start for biological anthropology and related topics! Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities.

JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text access to complete runs of key scholarly journals in many fields. To obtain more relevant results, try narrowing your search by discipline.

Anthropology Plus
Unites Harvard University’s “Anthropological Literature” and the Royal Anthropological Institute’s (UK) "Anthropological Index". It indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, geography, geology, genetics, psychology, religion and sociology.

• NOTE: Anthro Plus is a bit difficult to search -- it does not search abstracts or full-text (but does link to full-text) so when you search you are only searching titles and a few keywords assigned to each article. To get better results, try using general/broad search terms.

PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.

Sociological Abstracts
A much larger database than Anthropology Plus and a good place to search for articles related to cultural anthropology.

Ecology Abstracts
Indexes current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), brings the AAA's journals online including: current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and a complete electronic archive of all 31 AAA journals through 2003.

Annual Reviews Online
Review articles (that review the existing literature on specific topics) in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. This is a really great place to start your research. It includes fantastic bibliographies that can lead you to related articles/books.

Also try...

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Look for links to full-text at Emory. NOTE: Content indexed by Google varies in quality -- use caution when selecting resources.

Academic Search Complete
Indexes scholarly journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education as well as major daily newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Christian Science Monitor.

BioMed Central
Publishes peer-reviewed scientific journals rapidly and makes them freely available online. Includes biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, medicine, microbiology, nursing, and public health.

BIOSIS Previews
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research including biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering. Indexes journal articles, technical reports, meetings, reviews, and books.

Popline
Focuses on reproductive health, family planning, health policy, AIDS, environmental health, public health, and development. Includes scholarly articles, published & unpublished reports. [NOTE: THIS DATABASE CAN BE SLOW!]

Global Health (CABI)
International coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.

ToxNet
A group of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, genetic toxicology, risk assessments, pollution, and related areas.