Skip to main content

AAS 387RW|ENGCW 385R|AMST 387RW|HIST387 Civil Rights Cold Cases (Main)

Course Description

Civil Rights Cold Cases

Prof. Hank Klibanoff

ENGCW 385WR, AAS 385WR, HIST 387RW, HIST 387RW, AMST 387WR  (Spring 2020)

Useful Links

Georgia Civil Rights Cold Cases Project 

Website for the Georgia Civil Rights Cold Cases Project at Emory University. 

The Civil Rights Cold Case Project

Website from the Center for Investigative Reporting.

FBI Civil Rights Cold Case Initiative

Archived website from the FBI's Cold Cases Project.

Equal Justice Initiative

Organization committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.

Reference Works

An excellent resource for background on Georgia history. See especially entries on the Civil Rights and Sunbelt eras. See for instance, the NGE article on the Atlanta Race Riots.
 
Oxford African American Studies Center includes major reference works for the study of African American history and culture.
 
Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns. It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and LC call number.
 
Credo Reference Unlimited is a full-text database of hundreds of reference books covering every major subject, including major Civil Rights figures and events.
 
CLIO notes, a part of the database America History and Life, provides timelines and resource guides for the study of US History. See especially "Desegregation and Civil Rights."
 

Printed Reference

The Civil Rights Movement (Blackwell) E185.61 .C6164 2001

Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights (Greenwood Press) E185.61 .E54 1992