Journal Orientation 2024

• Finding and checking out books at Emory Libraries
• Getting scans of chapters and articles
• Obtaining materials outside of Emory Libraries through Interlibrary Loan

If you need help...

Email us at lawcirc@emory.edu.

Emory University Libraries

• Emory’s MacMillan Law Library is one of five total Emory University libraries with nearly 9 million items in total.

• Four of the Emory libraries are located on the main Atlanta campus; one is located 40 miles away at the Oxford campus. Items from the Oxford campus can be requested for delivery.

• Items from the Atlanta campus are not available for request--students must retrieve the items from the library.

Our Collection Contains...

• Books
• Journals
• DVDs
• Thousands of databases
• Electronic Journals
• Ebooks
• And more!

Finding Print Materials at Emory Libraries:

Step 1: Sign in to your library account in the upper right corner of the Emory University Library Catalog.

Step 2: Use the Library Catalog to find / search for materials.  For tips using the Library Catalog, see our Library Search User Guide and FAQs.

Step 2: Note the call number and location of the book - not all books are at MacMillan Law Library.

• If the book is located at MacMillan Law Library, ...
  • Using the call number, find the book on the 3rd or 4th floor of the library. 
  • Bring that book down to the Service Desk to check it out to you personally.
  • Ask the Circulation Specialist at the Service Desk for a "Journal sticker" for the spine of the book.
  • When you are done using the book, put it on your designated journal shelf on the 1st floor of the library for other members of your journal to use.

• If the book is located at a different Emory Library... 
  • ... and you want to pick it up from the other library yourself (to avoid delays in transit), then:
    • Head on over to that library - locations are available here: Emory Libraries Maps
    • Check out the book to yourself personally.
    • When you get back to the MacMillan Law Library, ask the Circulation Specialist at the Service Desk for a "Journal sticker" for the spine of the book.
    • When you are done using the book, put it on your designated journal shelf on the 1st floor of the library for other members of your journal to use.
  • ... and you want to request a scan of a page range or chapter (aka "Document Delivery") then:
    1. Determine which pages/chapter you need, 
    2. Sign in to the Library Catalog (top right corner)
    3. Click "Request Article or Chapter" 
    4. Log in to ILLIAD when prompted, 
    5. Update the request with the pages / chapters you would like to request, 
    6. Click "Submit Request."
    7. When ready, the scan will appear in your ILLIAD account.  

Step 3: If Emory University does not own the book, then see Finding Materials at Other Libraries below.

Things to keep in mind when working with print materials:

• Materials are checked out to the individual - not the journal.
• Fines are real and are your responsibility.
• MacMillan Law Library is not able to scan items for students.

This video covers how to get to the library catalog, search for items, and place a hold for pickup. Do you want to be able to walk right into the library and pick up a book to be scanned or checked out? Watch the video below! You can use this process not only with the Law Library, but other Emory libraries as well.

You cannot request scans of books that are held at the Law Library. You must request those books and come to the library to scan them yourself.

You can request scans of items at these libraries on Emory's campus:

• Library Service Center
• Woodruff Library
• Pitts Theology Library
• Health Sciences Library
• Oxford Library
• Music & Media Library
• Business Library
• Science Commons

Featured below are instructions for requesting a book section. This video starts on the Pitts Theology Library website, but you can start your search here in the library catalog and then follow the video's instructions from there.

You can learn more about the rules of Document Delivery and find a step-by-step guide here.

When tracking your materials, Library Search is your friend.

Log into your account by clicking "My Library Card."

Sign in using "Emory Users" link.

Once you log in, you’ll be able to see everything that is checked out to you, as well as any fines you may have accrued, hold requests you have made, or any recalls that are coming due.

Request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! Watch the video below to see how you can request items from all over the country.

Remember:

• There are limits to the items that we can ILL. This process also takes time.
• Physical ILLs must be picked up at the law library. We cannot ship them to your home.
• Please submit as much information as possible when filling out the request--edition, publication year, etc.
• This process can also be used for scans of book chapters, articles, and other materials, but there may be limits to what you can request.
• Always make sure that Emory does not own the item first.

Also, keep in mind, we do not ILL scans of textbooks in use the current semester, whole books, or any material available at Emory or Online, unless it's a Document Delivery Request to a different Emory library.

Fill out the e-form, download and sign it, then send it to Crystal Lee at clee51@emory.edu.

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):

Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight

Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
 

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services