Remember, journal students have a dedicated Virtual Journal Support Desk, in addition to our general Virtual Reference Desk. Use either link to talk with a Research Librarian during these hours:
Virtual Journal Support Reference Desk (August 10, 2020 - November 13, 2020):
Tuesdays, 10am - 1pm
Thursdays: 3pm - 6pm
Fridays: 1pm - 4pm
Virtual Reference Desk (August 17, 2020 - December 11, 2020):
(Meeting ID: 930 5184 4067)
Monday - Thursday: 9am - 5pm
Friday: 9am - Noon
Saturday - Sunday: Closed.
General Question for the Library?
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.
Request a one-on-one Consultation:
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
Access to MacMillan Law Library is available by appointment only via our only. You must complete the to gain access to the law library or any campus facility for any amount of time during the fall term. Please before making a reservation.
Per CDC and University guidelines, the law library can safely accommodate up to 72 students at any given time. Per Emory University policy, visitors are not allowed on campus at this time; this decision will be revisited once COVID-19 conditions improve in Atlanta. Access to the law library is limited to law students at this time and all outside visitors are prohibited from entering the library. As such, both the law school and law library are available via card access only, and the library requires an additional reservation to gain entry.
Individual Study Spaces in the Law Library - Dedicated Journal Study Space
Individual study spaces can be reserved for up to three hours per student per day and can be reserved up to four days in advance. Reservations are available on the law library's website at or at . The library has reserved the table nearest the scanners for "Journal Use Only." To request this space, check page #3 of our Reserve A Seat scheduling system and select "L2 Workstation for Journal Students ONLY."
Food and Drink Policy
Masks must be worn at all times while using the law library. Therefore, food is not permitted in the law library and drinks in spill-proof cups with straws or similar are permitted.
Finding Journal Articles using DiscoverE's "eJournals" Tool
Emory University Libraries subscribe to thousands of journals electronically. It is common to have full text access to one journal via multiple database subscriptions. It is also common for each of those subscriptions to include different date ranges of each journal or include embargos on more recent articles. To make it easier to find all subscriptions to a particular journal, use our eJournals tool to find your article.
Step 1: Open Emory Library's catalog, , and select "" (above the search bar).
Step 2: Search for your journal title and click the title you want - this will open a new window
Step 3: In the new window, review the list of databases that include access to this journal. Notice that some databases have different coverages while other include embargos on the most recent issues. Select the database that includes access to the date range of your journal article.
Step 4: Once in the appropriate database, either Browse the database for your volume/issue or search using the article's title.
If Emory does not have full text access to the journal / article you are trying to find, then you will need to request it from another library via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). To request an article via ILL:
Finding Print Materials at Emory Libraries During COVID-19:
of searching and requesting print materials, EIC Meeting, Sept. 2, 2020
Step 1: Use Emory Library's catalog, discoverE, to find / search for books.
Step 2: Note the location - not all books are at MacMillan Law Library
Step 3: If Emory University does not own the book, then see Finding Materials at Other Libraries below.
Things to keep in mind when working with print materials:
Notable Differences from Past Years
Finding Print Materials at Other Libraries During COVID-19
If Emory does not own the book you are looking for,
...and you want the entire book, then you will need to request it from another library via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). To request a book via ILL:
...and you are fine with a scan of pages or a chapter,