Skip to Main Content

Summer RA Workshop - 2022

Welcome!

Welcome to the 2022 edition of the MacMillan Law Library’s Summer RA Workshop Research Guide.  This guide has been created to help the Summer RAs of 2022 find answers to some of our most Frequently Answered Questions covered during the 3-hour workshop held on May [the] 4, 2022.  

Each workshop presenter has created a page in this guide that includes information about the topic discussed.  Some pages also include additional information, explanations, and links beyond what was covered in our short time together.  

If you can’t find the answers here, contact information is available within each page as well as in our Staff Directory located on our website, www.library.law.emory.edu

If you have a specific research related question, remember one-on-one research consultations are available all summer long using this form: Student Research Consultation request.

Agenda

9:30 – 9:35     Welcome and Workshop Overview
                       Sarah Rodgers, Law Librarian for Outreach

9:35 - 9:45     MacMillan Law Library's Website and Research Guides
                       
Elizabeth Christian, Law Librarian for Research Services 

9:45 - 10:00   Legal Citation Literacy
                       Christina Glon, Associate Law Librarian for Research Services

10:00 - 10:20  Finding Articles
                       Erin Grimes, Law Librarian for Archives and Research Services

10:20 – 10:30  Short Break (10 minutes)

10:30 - 11:00   Research Strategies
                        David Yoo, Law Librarian for Research Services

11:00 - 11:30    Beyond Westlaw and Lexis – Additional Databases 
                         
Amy Flick, Foreign, Comparative and International Law Librarian 

11:30 – 11:40   Short Break (10 minutes)

11:40 - 11:55   Bluebooking
                        Andy Stamm, Law Librarian for Research Services 

11:55 - 12:15   Circulation Information for Summer Research Assistants
                        Sarah Rodgers, Law Librarian for Outreach

12:15 – 12:30  Wrap-up and Q&A Session
                         Sarah, Elizabeth, Christina, Erin, David, Amy, and Andy

Session Recording

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

For all library questions, please contact us via the following forms:

Faculty Research Questions?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Questions?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services (January 3, 2022 - May 8, 2022):

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 3, 2022 - May 8, 2022):*

Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - Midnight
**Our MLK Holiday hours are:
     Friday, Jan. 13th: 8am- 6pm
     Saturday, Jan. 14th: CLOSED
     Sunday, Jan 15th: CLOSED
     Monday, Jan 16th: 10am - 2pm

Reference Desk:*
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday: Closed 
Sunday: Closed 
*Closed Monday Jan 16th for MLK Holiday

Virtual Reference Desk:
Monday - Thursday: Closed
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday: Closed 
Sunday: Closed 

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:

Physical archives: Closed until further notice.
Digital archives: More information available here
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Erin Grimes, Law Librarian for Archives and Research Services