Skip to main content

LAW 676C - International Humanitarian Law Clinic (Prof. Blank, Fall 2020): Introduction

Introduction

With the research component of your class in mind, we have compiled a listing of useful resources for the topic of international humanitarian law. If you have any questions, please request a student consult with a librarian using the form linked on the left hand side of this guide.

Secondary Sources

Treatises and other secondary sources will provide you with background information, analysis, and citations to primary resources as you start your research. 

Use discoverE to find print treatises and ebooks. Print materials on the subject of international humanitarian law can be found around KZ6471.  Ebook databases with titles on international law include Oxford Scholarship Online, Cambridge Books Online, and ElgarOnline; find titles with database links by searching in discoverE. Books in the library include Blank, Laurie and Gregory Noone, International Law and Armed Conflict: Fundamental Principles and Contemporary Challenges in the Law of War, Law Library KZ6385 .B53 2016, and Woodruff Library KZ6385 .B53 2019.

   Recommended titles include:

  • The Handbook of International Humanitarian Law, 2013, Oxford Public International Law
  • International Humanitarian Action (NOHA Textbook), 2018. Springer Open Access (Create account and login for access)
  • Oslo Manual on Select topics of the Law of Armed Conflict Rules and Commentary, 2020. Springer Open Access (Create account and login for access)
  • Schmitt and von Heinegg, The Development and Principles of International Humanitarian Law, KZ6471 .D487 2012
  • HPCR Practitioner's Handbook on Monitoring, Reporting, and Fact-Finding: Investigating International Law Violations KZ6471 .H63 2017 and Cambridge Books Online
  • Corn, Watkin, and Williamson, The Law in War: A Concise Overview, KZ6355 .C67 2018
  • Cryer, Law on the Use of Force and Armed Conflict: The Prohibition on Forcible Intervention, KZ6355 .L39 2017 and Elgar Online

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (Oxford Public International Law): Articles on topics within international law, with subject areas including International Humanitarian Law and Use of Force, War, Peace, and Neutrality. Articles include bibliographies and document links, and the Oxford Law Citator with citation form for documents, links to documents, and a citator for finding related documents.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (Oxford Public International Law): Articles on procedural issues in international courts and complaints procedures, including bibliographies, document and case citations, and the Oxford Law Citator . 

Oxford International OrganizationsKey primary documents of international organizations with commentary. Includes resolutions, treaties, decisions, reports, rules, statements, and guidelines. Articles include links to journal articles and materials cited and the Oxford Law Citator

Parry and Grant's Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (Oxford Reference). Definitions of international law terms with citations to primary documents.

Dictionary of International Human Rights Law: Definitions of terms specific to international human rights law, including treaties and documents

Restatement of Foreign Relations:  Principles of U.S. foreign relations and international law, with citations to cases, treatises and secondary sources. Available online through Westlaw and Hein Online.

CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared for congressional committees and staff on topics including international law and U.S. foreign policy. Find a complete collection on Proquest Congressional, an extensive free collection arranged by topic at EveryCRSReport.com, and a more selective collection focusing on national security topics at the Federation of American Scientists

Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals,  searchable by full-text and fields. Many articles are available in PDF. 

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): Database of journal articles, working papers, and policy briefs from NGOs and research institutes.  

PAIS (Public Affairs International): Searchable index of articles, books, policy papers, and government documents in public policy, social policy, and social sciences. Results as citations and abstracts with Find it @ Emory links. 

Foreign Affairs magazine.  (Council on Foreign Relations; also available on LexisEbsco, and Hein Online): Periodical on U.S. foreign policy and global affairs.

Law review articles frequently address international humanitarian law and the law of armed conflict. Find law review articles on Westlaw, Lexis, and Hein Online. Hein Online also has articles from non-U.S. journals in International and Non-U.S. Law Journals and indexed (sometimes with full-text) in Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals is a weekly index service arranged by subject area for finding recent law review articles. Subject areas include Human Rights Law; International Law; Terrorism; and Military, War and Peace. CILP is available on Westlaw and on Hein Online

JSTOR has full-text articles in non-law disciplines including public policy, Middle Eastern studies, and Latin American studies. 

News and Current Awareness

ICRC Newsroom (International Committee of the Red Cross): News, video, new documents, and press releases related to humanitarian emergencies and the work of the ICRC.

ASIL (American Society of International Law) publications include:

  • International Legal Materials. Available on Westlaw, Lexis, Hein OnlineNew primary documents in international law, including treaties and agreements, international and national court decisions on international law, and UN resolutions and documents. 
  • ASIL Insights: Brief analysis of international law news stories in international courts, treaties, and international law
  • ASIL International Law in Brief: Blog with abstracts of and links to new primary documents in international law, updating International Legal Materials.

Global Legal Monitor (Law Library of Congress): Legal news stories, in English, on foreign and international law.  Search by keyword or topic, or browse by topic (war, war crimes, genocide) or by jurisdiction (countries and international courts).

The Hague Justice Portal has court calendars of the international courts at The Hague and news from the courts, including the Justice Hub blog.

UN News: Portal of UN news on its activities, including topic areas in Advanced Search for Peace & Security and Migrants & Refugees. There is also a keyword search. Subscribe to daily or weekly updates by topic. 

Security Council Report: Tracks issues considered by the UN Security Council and collects the relevant Security Council Resolutions and other documents. Includes monthly forecasts, research reports, and key UN documents. Find pages by country or region, or by thematic and general issues.

Just Security blog: Blog on U.S. national security law and policy. The blog archives includes an extensive topic list. 

Lawfare blog: Blog on national security and the law of armed conflict. Extensive topics list includes Laws of War, War Powers, LOAC, Security Policy in Depth.

Blogs on international law and human rights can be searched using Justia BlawgSearch

Subject Guide