Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.
Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMallan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm*
*Closed Monday, January 18, 2021
MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021*)
Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Sunday: Noon - 6pm
*Library will reopen at 12pm on Monday, January 18, 2021
Reopening at 10am on Tuesday, January 19, 2021.
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Email us at and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.
Have something checked out from us?
And need to return it but you haven't been cleared to return to campus or are not in the Atlanta area? Please see our Returning Library Materials guidelines for additional information.
If you are graduating in December, please return all library materials by December 1st. If you are not in the Atlanta area, see Returning Library Materials guidelines for instructions for self-shipping your library items.
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org for additional assistance.
To make it easier to find all subscriptions to a particular journal, use our eJournals tool to find your article.
Step 1: Open Emory Library's catalog, , and select "" (above the search bar).
Step 2: Search for your journal title and click the title you want - this will open a new window
Step 3: In the new window, review the list of databases that include access to this journal. Notice that some databases have different coverages while other include embargos on the most recent issues. Select the database that includes access to the date range of your journal article.
Step 4: Once in the appropriate database, either Browse the database for your volume/issue or search using the article's title.
If Emory does not have full text access to the journal / article you are trying to find, then you will need to request it from another library via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). To request an article via ILL:
Finding Journal Articles using DiscoverE's "eJournals" Tool
Emory University Libraries subscribe to thousands of journals electronically. It is common to have full text access to one journal via multiple database subscriptions. It is also common for each of those subscriptions to include different date ranges of each journal or include embargos on more recent articles.
What do "different data ranges" and "embargos" mean?
Just because the library has a journal in our catalog, doesn't mean all of it is accessible from every link we provide.
In the image above, you can see two options for this journal!
The first link says: "Available from 2006, volume: 1 issue: 1" - This means that this database subscription provides every article published in this journal from 2006 through today. Every article that appears from Volume 1, Issue 1 will be available to you if you select this link.
The second link says: "Available from 2011. Most recent 1 year(s) not available." - This means that this database subscription only provides every article published in this journal from 2011 to the issue before the most recent year.
Even though both of these links will take you get you articles from the journal, the first will allow you access to many more articles!
Finding Print Materials at Emory Libraries During COVID-19:
of searching and requesting print materials, EIC Meeting, Sept. 2, 2020
Step 1: Use Emory Library's catalog, discoverE, to find / search for books.
Step 2: Note the location - not all books are at MacMillan Law Library
Step 3: If Emory University does not own the book, then see Finding Materials at Other Libraries below.
Things to keep in mind when working with print materials:
Notable Differences from Past Years
Finding Print Materials at Other Libraries During COVID-19
If Emory does not own the book you are looking for, then you will need to request it from another library via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). To request a book via ILL: