Kim Collins
About This Research Guide
This research guide introduces students to many of the resources available for getting information on these ancient cultures from primary resources (ancient texts and artifacts) to secondary sources that write about the Classics in modern times.
Bryn Mawr College (MJM-004874) Photographed by Machteld Johanna Mellink
Background Resources
Background Resources
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classics This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Classics. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by ISBN: 0199545561Publication Date: 2012-05-04Completely revised and updated, the fourth edition of this established dictionary offers entries on all aspects of the classical world. With reception and anthropology as new focus areas and numerous new entries, it is an essential reference work for students, scholars, and teachers of classics and for anyone with an interest in the classical era.
Brill's New Pauly by ISBN: 9004122591Publication Date: 2011-05-10Translated from the German, this encyclopedia offers a detailed treatment of all aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity. Because it was originally a German work, the bibliographic references favor German sources.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by ISBN: 0198601654Publication Date: 1999-02-04Online version provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by ISBN: 9780199548545Publication Date: 2011-09-30he third edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature is the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds. With an extensive web of cross-references and a useful chronological table and location maps (all of which have been brought fully up to date), this volume traces the development of literary forms and the classical allusions which have become embedded in our Western culture.
