Portals to Primary Sources
Don't know where to start? Try one of the following database portals. They allow researchers to search across multiple databases produced by the same publisher or archives.
-
Archive ExplorerPublisher: Adam Matthew
-
ArtemisPublisher: Gale
-
Archive ExplorerPublisher: Readex
-
DP.LAPublisher: Archives and Libraries across the US
Finding Digital Primary Sources: COVID-19 Update
If you need help finding digital primary sources set up an appointment with Erica Bruchko to discuss your options. You can see her calendar and book a time to chat virtually here: https://libraries.emory.edu/contact/staff-directory/bruchko-erica.html.
Primary Source Databases
The Library has a number of databases that contain primary source documenting the history of racial violence in America. Here's a list to get you started. It is strongly recommended, however, that you set up an appointment with your subject librarian, Erica Bruchko, for help navigating these databases and to identify additional collections.
African American Studies
-
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowContains periodicals by and about African Americans and Civil Rights struggles.
-
History Vault This link opens in a new windowIncludes major collections including the NAACP Papers and the archives of major Civil Rights leaders.
-
African American Communities This link opens in a new windowContains primary source materials related to race relations and African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
-
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBlack Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier. TRY ME FIRST!
-
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new windowSearch for Congressional Hearings, Congressional Research Service Reports and the Congressional Record.
Native American Studies
-
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowContains a variety of sources related to Native American history and culture.
-
American Indians and the West (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowContains historical documents pertaining to American Indians and the West.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowContains U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Searchable in English and Spanish, materials span from 1960 to the present.
-
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new windowSearch for Congressional Hearings, Congressional Research Service Reports and the Congressional Record.
LatinX Studies
-
Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowContains a large collection of poetry, fiction, and plays by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowContains U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Searchable in English and Spanish, materials span from 1960 to the present.
Asian American Studies
-
History Vault This link opens in a new windowThe History Vault contains important documents that cover Asian American exclusion and Progressive-era politics.
-
USC's Asian American Primary Sources GuideCheck out some of the resources listed on USC's primary sources guide.
-
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe) This link opens in a new windowSearch for Congressional Hearings, Congressional Research Service Reports and the Congressional Record.
Manuscript Collections at the Rose Library
The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library holds a number of important collections documenting racial violence in the United States. A number of collections related to African American History and Culture also chronicle the racial violence against African Americans. For an overview of these and other collections at Rose visit the Rose Library Literature Page.