Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAW 867 - Global Histories of Sovereignty (Prof. Ruskola, Fall 2019): History of International Law

Sovereignty

Image from the frontispiece of Hobbes' Leviathan

Questions for the Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk
Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Finding Treatises

discoverE: The catalog for the Emory libraries is your best source for finding treatises for your research. You can find print treatises from the Law Library and other campus libraries, and ebooks and other online resources in campus databases. For your research on the history of sovereignty in international law, try searching by subject:

  • Sovereignty - History
  • Nation-State - History
  • International Law - History
  • Colonization - History

Bibliographies and encyclopedias listed under the Starting Points tab will list recommended treatises that you can find using discoverE,  or request on interlibrary loan. 

 

Standard and Classic International Law Treatises

Standard treatises on international law will discuss concepts in international law and are citeable secondary authority for your research. The campus ebook databases also include many of the classic international law treatises that you will see cited in later works.

 

Law Library Databases on International Law and Legal History

Oxford Databases on International Law

  • Oxford Scholarship Online Law Collection. Full-text treatises on domestic and international law from Oxford University Press. Includes titles in Legal History, Public International Law, and Philosophy of Law.
  • Oxford Reports on International Law.  ORIL brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals. Browse options include subject (with a long list of subtopics), jurisdiction, and state party. Subjects include History of International Law and Sovereignty. The Oxford Law Citator provides citations to documents and related citing cases and documents. 
  • Oxford Constitutions of the World: Translated current and historical national constitutions, with introductory notes and bibliographies.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law: Articles on topics in constitutional law, with country comparisons, bibliographies, and case citations.

Hein Online Databases on International Law

  • History of International Law. Treatises and documents dating back to 1690. Scholarly articles include selected articles on Hein Online on the history of international law. Search or browse by subject to find titles on sovereignty and other subjects.
  • Hague Academy Collected Courses OnlineCourses begin with 1923. Browse by year or by subject, with 100 entries on sovereignty, or search the database. The course for 1953 included 5 lectures on the history of sovereignty in international law. 
  • World Treaty Library. Treaty indexes and collections, dating back to 1648. Collections include U.S. United Nations, British, French, and Latin American treaties. The Scholarly Articles section includes selected articles on the law of treaties. 
  • World Constitutions IllustratedCurrent and historical constitutions as original documents, consolidations, and English translations. The database also includes commentaries, bibliographies, and selected articles on the countries' constitutional law from Hein Online. 

Gale Making of Modern Law Databases on Legal History and International Law

Subject Guide