WGSS Librarian
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Selected Journal List
Feminist Collection
Available through Contemporary Women's Issues.
Feminist Formations(Continuation of NWSA Journal)
Feminist Review
HQ1154 .F4465
Feminist Studies: FS
HQ1101 .F455
HQ1190 .F465
Gender & History
HQ1101 .G46
Gender & Society
HQ1075 .G457
Hypatia
HQ1101 .H9
Formerly published under the title Women's Studies International Forum
HQ1101 .W775 (v. 5-v.29, 1982-2006) Now a separate journal.
Journal of Women's History
HQ1101 .J68
NWSA Journal
HQ1186 .U6 N87
Sex Roles
HQ786 .S4 (v.1-v.55, 1975-2006)
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & Society
HQ1101 .S55
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
E-only
Woman's Art Journal
N72 .F45W64
Women & Politics
HQ1236 .W63 (v.1-v.26, 1980-2004)
Continued as Journal of Women, Politics & Policy
HQ1236 .W63
Women's Review of Books
Micfilm 1635
Current issues shelved in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm.
Women's Studies
HQ1101 .W77 (v.1-v.28, 1972-1999)
Scholarly versus Popular Sources
Know the difference between scholarly and popular/non-scholarly articles.
A good guide is provided by:
University of Arizona
"Scholarly" journal =
"Peer-Reviewed" journal =
"Refereed" journal
***Research Tips***
- For this class, I recommend starting your research with the databases in the box below, Excellent Places to Start.
- For research on Foucault, the Philosopher's Index database (see the box below) is a great resource.
- If you do not see the full text of an article OR the blue "Find it @ Emory" button displayed below an article in a database, check your browser. The "Find it @ Emory" button should show up in Chrome.
Excellent Places to Start
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowCovers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCollection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.
Find Articles in Specific Journals
You can search within specific e-journals to find articles, also.
1.Go to ejournals@Emory
2.Type in the title of the journal in the search box. (See the "Selected Journal List" on the left side of this page for ideas.)
Example: Gender & Society
3.Select a Full Text option that has a good date range for your search (for this class, you are likely to be looking for more recent articles)
4.Log in to access the journal
5.You may search within the journal for articles (by topic or author, for example) - often there is a search box provided for doing this labeled, "Search within this journal" - OR you may browse journal issues or a larger database that includes the journal that you are interested in
More WGSS Resources
-
Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide (Main)
by Jennifer Elder Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 51 views this year
Additional Databases
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowAccess material from the Education Resources Information Center, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes articles, reports, guides, papers, and more.
Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article
When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.
Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)
Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button 
leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)
Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)
Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)