Research Guides: American Studies: Articles

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching

Databases

A database is the place to begin searching for articles in scholarly journals. You can select databases by subject, then find the appropriate database to begin finding articles about your topic.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.

Subject-Specific Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished non-fiction writings by black American authors.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and some full-text journals in areas related to communication and mass media.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Covers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains a large number of journals and magazines covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.

Newspaper Databases

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.

Image Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Aggregates statistical data on national and international industry, markets, and consumers.
Much of the aggregate data is available for download/exported, although the underlying microdata is not.

e-Journals

Academic journals are subject-specific and may focus on specific topics within a broader discipline.

e-Journals
Use e-Journals to track down an article in a specific journal.