Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Theater Studies

Use this guide to find books, articles, databases, and other resources for research in Theater

Cite Sources

Citing Images

The basic information you will need:

• Artist’s name

• Title of the work

Date it was created

• Repository, museum, or owner (in other words, where it is now located)

• City or country of origin

• Dimensions of the work

• Material or medium (oil on canvas, marble, found objects, etc.)

• Image Source

If you found the image in a book, you will also need the author, title, publisher information, date, page, and figure or plate number of the reproduction. If you found the image online, you will need an access date, the web site address (URL), and, in some cases, an image ID number.

Examples:

Marble Seated Harp Player, ca. 2800-2700 B.C.E., Late Early Cycladic I- Early Cycladic II, marble, H with harp 11 1/2 in. (29.21 cm). Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 47.100.1. Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/47.100.1/. Accessed September 17, 2017.

Vincent van Gogh, Vase of Roses, 1890, oil on canvas, 36 5/8 x 29 1/8 in. (93 x 74 cm). Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1993.400.5. Artstor Digital Library, http://library.artstor.org/#/asset/MMA_IAP_1039651237. Accessed September 17, 2017.

Chicago Style

The 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style was published in September 2017. It includes some notable changes:

  • šNo longer use ibid.
  • šE-mail is now email.
  • šInternet is now internet. 
  • šOffers a citation for Twitter

Book, Bibliography:

Getz-Preziosi, Pat. Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2001.

Book, Footnote:

1. Pat Getz-Preziosi, Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture (Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2001), 15.

Book Chapter, Bibliography:

Craxton, John and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?." In Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, edited by Neil Brodie and C. Hills, 109-113. Cambridge: McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004.

Book Chapter, Footnote:

1. John Craxton and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?," in Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, ed. Neil Brodie and C. Hills (Cambridge: McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004), 109.

Journal Article, Bibliography:

Gill, David W. J., and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures." American Journal of Archaeology 97, no. 4 (1993): 601-59. Accessed September 9, 2017. http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716.

Journal Article, Footnote:

1. David W. J. Gill and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures," American Journal of Archaeology 97, no. 4 (1993): 601, accessed September 9, 2017, http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716.

Website, Bibliography:

"Marble Seated Lyre Player." Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed September 9, 2017. http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587.

Website, Footnote:

"Marble Seated Lyre Player," Metropolitan Museum of Art, accessed September 9, 2017, http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587.

MLA Style

Book:

Getz-Preziosi, Pat. Personal Styles in Early Cycladic Sculpture. University of Wisconsin Press, 2001.

Book Chapter:

Craxton, John, and Peter Warren. "A Neocycladic Harpist?." Material Engagements: Studies in Honour of Colin Renfrew, edited by Neil Brodie and C. Hills, McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, 2004, 109-113.

Journal Article:

Gill, David W. J., and Christopher Chippindale. "Material and Intellectual Consequences of Esteem for Cycladic Figures." American Journal of Archaeology, vol. 97, no. 4, 1993, pp. 601-59, http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.emory.edu/stable/506716. Accessed 9 Sept. 2017. 

Website:

"Marble Seated Lyre Player." Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/254587. Accessed 9 Sept. 2017.

In-text Citations:

Getz-Preziosi discusses personal styles in early Cycladic sculpture (15). 

This text discusses personal styles in early Cycladic sculpture (Getz-Preziosi 15).