Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Philosophy Graduate Student Portfolio Papers Guide

Guide for portfolio papers

William Edward Burghardt "W. E. B." Du Bois

Editions

Many editions of Souls are available with no major differences between them (in terms of the main text). However, the follow editions are of special note:

 

Resources:

Online Resources:

Bibliographies:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

  • ​Bell, Bernard W., Emily Grosholz, and James B. Stewart, eds. 1996. W. E. B. Du Bois on race and culture: Philosophy, politics, and poetics. New York: Routledge.
    • Collection of a number of essays on various aspects of Du Bois's thoughts regarding race and its socially-constructed character.
  • Bruce, Dickson D., Jr. "W. E. B. Du Bois and the Idea of Double Consciousness," American Literature, vol. 64, no. 2, 1992, pp. 299–309.
    • Examines Du Bois's conception of double consciousness in more detail, focusing especially on the term's history.
  • Moore, T. Owens. "A Fanonian perspective on double consciousness" Journal of Black Studies, vol. 35, 2005, pp. 751–762.
    • Reads Du Bois's double consciousness in light of Fanon's account in Black Skin, White Masks of the lived experience of the black man; argues for a unification of these two "sides" of consciousness.
  • Rabaka, Reiland. 2003. W. E. B. Du Bois’s evolving Africana philosophy of education. Journal of Black Studies 33:399–449.
    • Examines Du Bois's thoughts on education, especially the "talented tenth"; argues Du Bois later modified this conception to be more inclusive of various economic strata.

William James

Editions:

James's Pragmatism can be found in a number of collections of James's work. For considerations of its place in James's corpus, one should consult the complete works:

It may also be helpful to consult the complete collection of James's correspondence:

Online Resources:

Bibliographies:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

John Dewey

Editions:

Experience and Nature can also be found in Dewey's collected works, viewable online through the link below.

Online Resources:

Bibliographies:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

Franz Fanon

Editions:

The original edition of this work is:

Online Resources:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

Gloria Anzaldúa

Online Resources:

Bibliographies:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

Judith Butler

Editions:

As a fairly recent text, only the above edition of Gender Trouble (plus its original 1990 edition) is available. Butler's two subsequent books, Bodies that Matter and Excitable Speech elaborate further on Butler's conception of gender performativity.

Online Resources:

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.