Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Judicial Clerkships - Researching Judges Workshop - Jan. 30, 2020: Databases

Databases

These are the "major hitters" when it comes to researching judges' information online. Remember, you will need your individual login and passwords to the respective subscription databases to access them. Please view the separate tabs for Bloomberg Analytics, Lexis Advance Litigation Profile, and Westlaw Profiler for additional details on how to navigate and conduct a search on a particular judge.

 

Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics. Use the "People" search function for biographical profiles of current state and federal judges, as well as recent news items. Use the “Litigation Analytics” function for current U.S. District Court judges, with profiles and analysis of opinions and orders, frequently-cited opinions, and motion and appeal outcomes.

Lexis Academic’s Martindale-Hubbell Practice Profiles

A searchable database of attorney and judge profiles with address and telephone numbers.

Lexis Advance Litigation Profile. Litigation Profile Suite (linked from the Lexis Advance drop-down research menu) includes biographical profiles of federal and state judges, as well as links to opinions, court filings, ruling history, and secondary sources.

TracFed – requires login and password- please ask a librarian for access.

Contains judges’ reports and modules, data on federal District Court judges, searchable by nature of suit and other criteria.

Vermont Clerkship Guide

A guide created by Vermont Law School to help you navigate clerkships. For login information, please contact Rita Sheffey.

Westlaw Profiler: Profiles of Attorneys & Judges

Includes more than 1,000,000 biographical profiles and reports of law firms, courts, judges, and lawyers from U.S. as well as international jurisdictions. Contains information such as Litigation History, Judicial Reversal, and Expert Challenge.