"Tilla-Kori madrasa inside mosque" by Faqscl (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Learning more about a topic
Encyclopedias, bibliographies, and handbooks are reference resources that can help you orient yourself to a given topic. Below, find a list of resources related to gender, sexuality, and Islam.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowPresents a cross cultural approach that emphasizes religion’s role in everyday life and in different cultures.
- Encyclopaedia of IslamThe Encyclopaedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. Includes volumes I-XI and supplement (volume XII); index of subjects (English), updated up to supplement (volume XII); index of proper names, updated up to volume IX. Not included in the Online version: glossary and index of technical terms; addenda and corrigenda.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic CulturesThis six volume set, published in 2007, presents current research on gender and islam in the areas of family, law, body, politics, sexuality and health, economics, education, mobility, and space. More than 900 scholars from around the world have contributed to this work.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and WomenInformation on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women, with more than 450 articles with a concentration on contemporary issues.
- Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineA growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide useful visual perspectives on Islam.
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Islamic Studies This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Islamic Studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Women in IslamGuide o scholarly literature in the field, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Handbooks
- The Oxford handbook of global religionsThis book is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. The contributors are leading scholars of world religions, many of whom are also members of the communities they study. Comprising sixty articles, the book focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites.
- The Oxford handbook of Islam and politicsThe Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics offers a geographically comprehensive, in-depth analysis of the interaction of Islam and politics in the post-9/11 era, in an increasingly globalizing world, and in an Arab world transitioning to democracy.It addresses significant questions and issues such as: What is the current state of Islam and politics? How and why has political Islam been relevant in recent years? What are the repercussions and policy implications of the increased role of Islamic movements? And where is political Islam heading?
- The Oxford handbook of Islamic theologyThe Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the current state of the field. It provides a variegated picture of the state of the art and at the same time suggests new directions for future research.
- The Oxford handbook of theology, sexuality, and genderThe 2015 Oxford handbook of theology, sexuality, and gender is a collection of 41 essays written by current experts in the field and provides an overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. While most of the handbook focuses on Judeo-Christian denominations, the Islamic perspective is also presented.
- The Oxford handbook of women and gender in medieval EuropeThe Oxford handbook of women and gender in Medieval Europe provides a comprehensive overview of the gender rules encountered in Europe in the period between approximately 500 and 1500 C.E. The collection focuses on Western Europe in the Middle Ages but offers some consideration of medieval Islam and Byzantium, opening these fields for further research. The Handbook is structured into seven sections: Christian, Jewish, and Muslim thought; law in theory and practice; domestic life and material culture; labour, land, and economy; bodies and sexualities; gender and holiness; and the interplay of continuity and change throughout the medieval period.
Librarian
Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Librarian
Jennifer Elder, WGSS Librarian
Email: Jennifer.J.Elder@emory.edu
Phone: 404-712-2833
Getting Help
Getting personalized research assistance is easy! Librarians are available to help you in-person or via telephone, e-mail, and IM.
Face-to-face help is available at the Woodruff Service Desk on level 2. For our service hours, please see our current service desk hours.
Appointments with a subject specialist can be made by current Emory students, faculty and staff. To set up a consultation appointment with a subject librarian, see our Subject Librarian Directory. Reach out to the appropriate librarian by using the link in their bio to set up an appointment, or reach out to them by e-mail. If you do not see a liaison for your subject, please contact us using the e-mail form.
Call us by phone at 404-727-6873.
Or you can send us an instant message.