Reference Works
Individual Works on Buddhism
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (from Gale)
Buddhist Dictionary of Pali Proper Names
Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism Online (v1. Language and Literature)
A Dictionary of Buddhism (from Oxford)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism entry
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism and Gender entry
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism and Sexuality entry
Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism: Buddhism and Gender entry
Treasury of Lives: a biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region
Individual Works on Religion
Brill Dictionary of Religion (Access licensed by Emory Libraries from Brill, a commercial publisher.)
Encyclopedia of Religion in America. (Access licensed by Emory Libraries from CQ Press, a division of the commercial publisher Sage.)
Encyclopedia of Religion. (Gale)
Collections of Reference Works on Different Subjects
Gale Virtual Reference (Access licensed by Emory Libraries from Gale, a commercial aggregator, a company that buys and packages content from publishers.)
Oxford Reference Online (Access licensed by Emory Libraries from Oxford, a non-profit university publisher.) Look at their list of references in Religion here.
Also check out the Oxford English Dictionary, especially the entry for buddhism and see all the historical and related variations.
*Tip: Reference works that are part of a publisher's or aggregator's collections, e.g., from Gale or Oxford, can be searched together with other works in their collections.
Sinhalese Manuscript
Bibliography of Buddhism and Women - Books
Bibliography of Buddhism and Women - Books
Upali Sraman, Doctoral Student, Emory University
Alam, Jayanti. 2013. The Buddhist Women of North-East India and South-West China. New Delhi: Akansha Publishing House.
Allione, Tsultrim. 2000. Women of Wisdom. Revised and Enlarged Edition. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion Publications.
Anderson, Leona M, and Pamela Dickey Young, eds. 2010. Women & Religious Traditions. Second edition. New York: Oxford University Press.
Arai, Paula Kane Robinson. 2011. Bringing Zen Home the Healing Heart of Japanese Women’s Rituals. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press.
Armour, Ellen T., and Susan M. St. Ville. 2006. Bodily Citations: Religion and Judith Butler. Gender, Theory, and Religion. New York: Columbia University Press.
Bāḷakr̥shṇa Ātmārāma Gupte compiler. 1909. Notes on the Position of Women Among Hindus, Moslems, Buddhists and Jains. History of Women; Reel 732, No. 5855. Calcutta]: SuptGovtPrinting.
Bappa Ray (film director), Madhu Khanna, Shahaed Ahmed, Pabitra Paharia, and Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts. 2006. The Journey of Bhikkunis (Documentary). New Delhi: Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts.
Bartholomeusz, Tessa J. 1994. Women Under the Bō Tree: Buddhist Nuns in Sri Lanka. Cambridge Studies in Religious Traditions ; 5. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.
Barua, Subhra. 1997. Monastic Life of The Early Buddhist Nuns. Calcutta: Atisha Memorial PubHouse.
Batchelor, Martine. 2006. Women in Korean Zen: Lives and Practices. 1st edition.. Women in Religion (Syracuse University). Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press.
Belt, Joke van de. 2010. Ani-La the Nuns from Redna Menling. Havertown: Sidestone Press.
Bergmann, Sigurd, and Yong-bok Kim. 2009. Religion, Ecology & Gender: East-West Perspectives. Studies in Religion and the Environment ; v. 1. Berlin: Lit.
Bhattacharya, Bela. 2000. Buddhist Women Saints of India. Calcutta: Firma KLM.
Blackstone, Kathryn R. 1998. Women in the Footsteps of the Buddha: Struggle for Liberation in the Therīgāthā. Curzon Critical Studies in Buddhism. Richmond, Surrey: Curzon.
Bod-kyi Bud-med Lhan-tshogs. 2009. Tibetan Nuns: The Status of Exiled Tibetan Nuns in India. Dharamsala: Tibetan Women’s Association.
Bose, Monica. 2002. The Hill of Fire. Asian Portraits. Bangkok: Orchid Press.
Boucher, Sandy. 1988. Turning the Wheel: American Women Creating the New Buddhism. San Francisco: Harper & Row.
———. 1997. Opening the Lotus: A Woman’s Guide to Buddhism. Boston: Beacon Press.
———. 1999. Discovering Kwan Yin, Buddhist Goddess of Compassion. Boston: Beacon Press.
———. 2000. Hidden Spring: A Buddhist Woman Confronts Cancer. Boston: Wisdom Pub.
———. 2005. Dancing in the Dharma: The Life and Teachings of Ruth Denison. 1st edition.. Boston, Mass.: Beacon Press.
Bourke, Myra J. 2002. Weaving A Double Cloth Stories Of Asia-Pacific Women In Australia. Canberra: Pandanus Books.
Brown, Sid. 2001. The Journey of One Buddhist Nun: Even Against the Wind. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Browning, Don S., M. Christian Green, and John Witte. 2006. Sex, Marriage, and Family in World Religions. New York: Columbia University Press.
Bsam-gtan-gliṅ-pa Phrin-las-ʼgro-ʼdul-las-rab-bde-ba-rtsal. 1998a. The Lives and Liberation of Princess Mandarava: The Indian Consort of Padmasambhava. Boston, MA: Wisdom Publications.
———. 1998b. The Lives and Liberation of Princess Mandarava: The Indian Consort of Padmasambhava. Boston, MA: Wisdom Publications.
Cabezón, José Ignacio. 1992. Buddhism, Sexuality, and Gender. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press.
Campbell, June. 2002. Traveller in Space: Gender, Identity, and Tibetan Buddhism. Revised edition.. New York: Continuum.
Chanda, Anuradha, Mahua Sarkar, Kunal Chattopadhyay, and Jadavpur University. 2003. Women in History. Kolkata: Progressive Publishers in association with Jadavpur University.
Cheng, Wei-Yi. 2007. Buddhist Nuns in Taiwan and Sri Lanka: A Critique of the Feminist Perspective. Routledge Critical Studies in Buddhism. London ; New York: Routledge.
Cheung, Neky Tak-ching. 2008. Women’s Ritual in China: Jiezhu (Receiving Buddhist Prayer Beads) Performed by Menopausal Women in Ninghua, Western Fujian. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen Press.
Cho, Eunsu. 2011. Korean Buddhist Nuns and Laywomen: Hidden Histories, Enduring Vitality. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Cho, Eun-su. 2011. Korean Buddhist Nuns and Laywomen Hidden Histories, Enduring Vitality. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Clarke, S. N. (2014). Family matters in Indian Buddhist monasticisms. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press.
Collett, Alice. 2014. Women in Early Indian Buddhism: Comparative Textual Studies. South Asia Research. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
———. 2016. Lives of Early Buddhist Nuns: Biographies as History. First edition. New Delhi, India: Oxford University Press.
Crothers, Lisa Wessman. 2013. The Eyes of Power and Dharma: Conceptions of the Advisor in Early India.
Curtin, Deane W. 1999. Chinnagounder’s Challenge the Question of Ecological Citizenship. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press.
Davidson, Ronald M. 2002. Indian Esoteric Buddhism: A Social History of the Tantric Movement. New York: Columbia University Press.
DeVido, Elise Anne. 2010. Taiwan’s Buddhist Nuns. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE. Albany, Albany, NY, USA: State University of New York Press, SUNY Press.
Dharmasēna, Thera. 2001. Portraits of Buddhist Women: Stories from the Saddharmaratnāvaliya. SUNY Series in Buddhist Studies. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Dixit, S. (2008). Patriarchy and feminine space: a study of women in early Buddhism (1st ed.). New Delhi: Manak Publications.
Diemberger, Hildegard. 2007. When a Woman Becomes a Religious Dynasty: The Samding Dorje Phagmo of Tibet. New York: Columbia University Press.
Dobbins, James C. 2004. Letters of the Nun Eshinni: Images of Pure Land Buddhism in Medieval Japan. Honolulu: University of Hawai’i Press.
Dresser, Marianne, ed. 1996. Buddhist Women on the Edge: Contemporary Perspectives from the Western Frontier. Berkeley, California: North Atlantic Books.
Drolma, Choying. 2013. Singing for Freedom. First edition.. Kathmandu: Published by Publication Nepa-laya in association with Nuns’ Welfare Foundation of Nepal.
Eilberg-Schwartz, Howard, and Wendy Doniger. 1995. Off With Her Head!: The Denial of Women’s Identity in Myth, Religion, and Culture. Berkeley: University of California Press.
Engelmajer, Pascale. 2015. Women in Pāli Buddhism: Walking the Spiritual Paths in Mutual Dependence. Routledge Critical Studies in Buddhism. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge.
Failinger, Marie A., Elizabeth R. Schiltz, and Stabile, eds. 2013. Feminism, Law and Religion. Gender in Law, Culture, and Society. Farnham, Surrey, England: Ashgate.
Faure, Bernard. 2003. The Power of Denial: Buddhism, Purity, and Gender. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press.
Feldman, Christina. 2005. Woman Awake: Women Practicing Buddhism. 2nd edition. Berkeley, Calif.: Rodmell Press.
Findly, Ellison Banks. 2000. Women’s Buddhism, Buddhism’s Women: Tradition, Revision, Renewal. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
Caplow, Florence, and Susan Moon. 2013. The Hidden Lamp: Stories from Twenty-Five Centuries of Awakened Women. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
Fong, Grace S. 2010. The Inner Quarters and Beyond Women Writers from Ming through Qing. Women and Gender in China Studies LCNAMES. Leiden: BRILL.
Friedman, Lenore. 1987. Meetings with Remarkable Women: Buddhist Teachers in America. 1st edition. Boston: Shambhala.
Friedman, Lenore, and Susan Moon. 1997. Being Bodies: Buddhist Women on the Paradox of Embodiment. 1st edition. Boston: Shambhala.
Garling, Wendy. 2016. Stars at Dawn: Forgotten Stories of Women in the Buddha’s Life. First edition. Boulder: Shambhala.
Grant, Beata. 20081201. Eminent Nuns: Women Chan Masters of Seventeenth-Century China. Honolulu, HI, USA: University of Hawaii Press.
———. 2003. Daughters of Emptiness: Poems of Chinese Buddhist Nuns. Somerville, MA: Wisdom Publications.
Graybill, Maribeth, Sadako Ohki, Columbia University. East Asian Library, and Institute for Medieval Japanese Studies. 1998. Days of Discipline and Grace: Treasures from the Imperial Buddhist Convents of Kyoto = Ama Monzeki jiin no hihō. New York: Institute for Medieval Japanese Studies.
Gregory, Peter N., and Susanne Mrozik. 2008. Women Practicing Buddhism: American Experiences. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
Gregory Schopen author. 2014. Buddhist Nuns, Monks, and Other Worldly Matters: Recent Papers on Monastic Buddhism in India. Studies in the Buddhist Traditions. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press.
Griffiths, Caitilin J. 2016. Tracing the Itinerant Path: Jishū Nuns of Medieval Japan. Pure Land Buddhist Studies. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press.
Gross, Rita M. 2009a. A Garland of Feminist Reflections Forty Years of Religious Exploration. Berkeley, Calif.; London: University of California Press.
———. 2009b. A Garland of Feminist Reflections: Forty Years of Religious Exploration. Berkeley: University of California Press.
Gutschow, Kim. 2004. Being a Buddhist Nun: The Struggle for Enlightenment in the Himalayas. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press.
Gyalwa Changchub. 1999. Lady of the Lotus-Born: The Life and Enlightenment of Yeshe-Tsogyal. 1st ed. Boston: Shambhala.
Haas, Michaela. 2013. Dakini Power: Twelve Extraordinary Women Shaping the Transmission of Tibetan Buddhism in the West. First Edition. Boston: Snow Lion.
Hallisey, Charles. 2015. Therīgāthā: Poems of the First Buddhist Women. Murty classical library of India; 3. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press.
Hecker, Hellmuth. 1982. Buddhist Women at the Time of the Buddha. Wheel (Kandy, Sri Lanka); No. 292/293. Buddhist Publication Society, Kandy, Sri Lanka: publisher not identified.
Heirman, Ann. 2002. Rules for Nuns According to the Dharmaguptakavinaya: the Discipline in Four Parts. 1st edition. Buddhist traditions; v. 47-49. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass Publishers.
Hood, Ann. 2010. The Red Thread: A Novel. 1st ed. New York: WWNorton & Co.
Horner, Isaline Blew. 1961. Women in Early Buddhist Literature. Wheel (Kandy, Sri Lanka); No. 30. Kandy, Ceylon: Buddhist Publication Society.
Hu, Hsiao-Lan. 20111201. This-Worldly Nibbana: A Buddhist-Feminist Social Ethic for Peacemaking in the Global Community. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Jacoby, Sarah H. 2014. Love and Liberation Autobiographical Writings of the Tibetan Buddhist Visionary Sera Khandro. New York: Columbia University Press.
Jin Y. Park author. 2017. Women and Buddhist Philosophy: Engaging Zen Master Kim Iryŏp. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press.
Joy, Morny. 2006. Gender, Genre and Religion Feminist Reflections. Waterloo ON: Wilfrid Laurier University Press.
Kane, Paula. 1999. Women Living Zen Japanese Soto Buddhist Nuns. New York: Oxford University Press.
Kapur-Fic, A. R. (1998). Thailand: Buddhism, society, and women. New Delhi: Abhinav Publications.
Karam, Azza M. 2001. A Woman’s Place: Religious Women as Public Actors. New York, N.Y.: World Conference on Religion and Peace Women’s Program.
Kaushik, Garima. 2016. Women and Monastic Buddhism in Early South Asia: Rediscovering the Invisible Believers. Archaeology and Religion in South Asia. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge.
Kawanami, Hiroko. 2013. Renunciation and Empowerment of Buddhist Nuns in Myanmar-Burma: Building a Community of Female Faithful. Social Sciences in Asia, v. 33. Leiden; Boston: Brill.
Kelkar, M. A., and Deepti Gangavane. 2003. Feminism in Search of an Identity: The Indian Context. Jaipur: Rawat Publications.
Keller, Rosemary Skinner, Rosemary Radford Ruether, and Marie Cantlon, eds. 2006. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.
Khandelwal, Meena, Sondra L. Hausner, and Ann Grodzins Gold. 2006. Women’s Renunciation in South Asia: Nuns, Yoginis, Saints, and Singers. Religion/Culture/Critique. New York: Palgrave Macmillan.
Khema, Ayya. 1998. "I Give You My Life: The Autobiography of a Western Buddhist Nun. 1st edition.. Boston: Shambhala.
Kimbrough, R. Keller. 2008. Preachers, Poets, Women, and the Way: Izumi Shikibu and the Buddhist Literature of Medieval Japan. Michigan monograph series in Japanese studies ; no. 62. Ann Arbor, MI: Center for Japanese Studies, The University of Michigan.
King, Sallie B. 1993. Passionate Journey: The Spiritual Autobiography of Satomi Myōdō. Albany, N.Y.: State University of New York Press.
Klein, Anne C. 1995. Meeting the Great Bliss Queen: Buddhists, Feminists, and the Art of the Self. Boston: Beacon Press.
Kloppenborg, R., & Hanegraaff, W. J. (1995). Female stereotypes in religious traditions. Leiden: EJBrill.
Kusuma, Kolonnawe. 2012. Braving the Unknown Summit: Autobiography of Ven. Bhikkhuni. 1st edition.. Colombo: Akna Publishers.
LaMacchia, Linda. 2008. Songs and Lives of the Jomo (Nuns) of Kinnaur, Northwest India: Women’s Religious Expression in Tibetan Buddhism. 1st edition.. Bibliotheca Indo-Buddhica ; No. 249. Delhi: Sri Satguru Publications.
Langenberg, Amy. 2017. Birth in Buddhism: The Suffering Fetus and Female Freedom. Routledge Critical Studies in Buddhism. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group.
Law, Bimala Churn. 2007. Women in Buddhist Literature. New Delhi: Asian Educational Services.
Ling, Huping. 2008. Emerging Voices: Experiences of Underrepresented Asian Americans. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press.
Makley, Charlene E. 2007. The Violence of Liberation: Gender and Tibetan Buddhist Revival in Post-Mao China. Berkeley: University of California Press.
McIntosh, Kenneth. 2005. Women in North America’s Religious World. Women’s Issues, Global Trends. Philadelphia: Mason Crest Publishers.
Mohr, Thea, Bhikṣuṇī Jampa Tsedroen, and Germany) International Congress on Buddhist Women’s Role in the Sangha Bhikshuni Vinaya and Ordination Lineages Hamburg. 2010. Dignity & Discipline: Reviving Full Ordination for Buddhist Nuns. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
Muldoon-Hules, Karen. 2017. Brides of the Buddha: Nuns’ Stories from the Avadānaśataka. Lanham, Maryland: Lexington Books.
Mullin, Glenn H. 2003. Female Buddhas: Women of Enlightenment in Tibetan Mystical Art. 1st edition. Santa Fe: Clear Light Publishers.
Murcott, Susan. 2006. First Buddhist Women: Poems & Stories of Awakening. [New edition].. Berkeley, Calif.: Parallax Press.
Nicholson, Shirley J., and Ted Hughes. 1989. The Goddess Re-Awakening: The Feminine Principle Today. 1st edition. Quest Book. Wheaton, Ill., U.S.A.: Theosophical PubHouse.
Osto, D. (2008). Power, wealth and women in Indian Mahāyāna Buddhism: the Gaṇḍavyūha-sūtra. Abingdon ; New York: Routledge.
Ozeki, Ruth L. 2013. A Tale for the Time Being. New York: Viking.
Pachen, Ani. 2000a. Sorrow Mountain: The Journey of a Tibetan Warrior Nun. New York: Kodansha International.
———. 2000b. Sorrow Mountain; the Journey of a Tibetan Warrior Nun. New York: Kodansha International.
Patton, Laurie. 2002. Jewels of Authority Women and Textual Tradition in Hindu India. Oxford: Oxford University Press, USA.
Paula Arai Author. 20110901. Bringing Zen Home: The Healing Heart of Japanese Women’s Rituals. Honolulu, HI, USA: University of Hawaii Press.
Paul, D. Y. (1985). Women in Buddhism: images of the feminine in Mahāyāna tradition (2nd ed.). Berkeley: University of California Press.
Prohl, Inken. 2012. Handbook of Contemporary Japanese Religions. Brill Handbooks on Contemporary Religion LCNAMES. Leiden: BRILL.
Raines, John C., and Daniel C. Maguire. 2001. What Men Owe to Women: Men’s Voices from World Religions. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Ramaswamy, Vijaya. 2003. Re-Searching Indian Women. Delhi: Manohar.
Rao, Vinay Kumar. 2012. Women in Buddhist Art. Delhi: Agam Kala Prakashan.
Reed, Wendy, and Jennifer Horne. 2006. All Out of Faith: Southern Women on Spirituality. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press.
Rengetsu. 1994. Lotus Moon: The Poetry of the Buddhist Nun Rengetsu. New York: Weatherhill.
Rengetsu, Melanie Eastburn, Lucie Folan, Robyn J. Maxwell, Rengetsu. --Poems. English & Japanese. Selections. --, and National Gallery of Australia. 2007. Black Robe, White Mist: Art of the Japanese Buddhist Nun Rengetsu. 1st ed. Canberra: National Gallery of Australia.
Richman, Paula. 1988. Women, Branch Stories, and Religious Rhetoric in a Tamil Buddhist Text. Foreign and Comparative Studies. South Asian Series; No. 12. Syracuse, N.Y.: Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University.
Roy, Kumkum. 2010. The Power of Gender & the Gender of Power: Explorations in Early Indian History. New Delhi; New York: Oxford University Press.
Ruch, Barbara. 2002. Engendering Faith: Women and Buddhism in Premodern Japan. Michigan monograph series in Japanese Studies; no. 43. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan.
Ruether, Rosemary Radford. 2007. Feminist Theologies: Legacy and Prospect. Minneapolis, MN: Fortress Press.
Sakya, Jamyang. 1990. Princess in the Land of Snows: The Life of Jamyang Sakya in Tibet. 1st ed. Boston: Shambhala: Distributed in the United States by Random House.
Salgado, Nirmala S. 2013. Buddhist Nuns and Gendered Practice: In Search of the Female Renunciant. New York: Oxford University Press.
Savvas, Carol Diane. 1990. A Study of the Profound Path of God: The Mahāyāna Buddhist Meditation Tradition of Tibet’s Great Woman Saint Machig Labdron. Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin-Madison,.
Schaeffer, Kurtis R. 2004. Himalayan Hermitess: The Life of a Tibetan Buddhist Nun. New York: Oxford University Press.
Schireson, Grace. 2009. Zen Women Beyond Tea Ladies, Iron Maidens, and Macho Masters. New York: Wisdom Publications.
Schireson, Grace Jill. 2009a. Zen Women: Beyond Tea Ladies, Iron Maidens, and Macho Masters. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
———. 2009b. Zen Women: Beyond Tea Ladies, Iron Maidens, and Macho Masters. Boston: Wisdom Publications.
Schmidt, Amy. 2005. Dipā Ma: The Life and Legacy of a Buddhist Master. New York: BlueBridge.
Sharma, Arvind. 2004. Goddesses and Women in the Indic Religious Tradition. Brill’s Indological Library Goddesses and Women in the Indic Religious Tradition. Leiden: BRILL.
Sharma, Arvind, and Katherine K. Young. 2007. Fundamentalism and Women in World Religions. London; New York: T & T Clark International.
Shaw, Miranda Eberle. 2006. Buddhist Goddesses of India. Princeton: Princeton University Press.
Shaw, M. E. (1994). Passionate Enlightenment: women in Tantric Buddhism. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press.
Shih, Bhikkunī Juo-Hsüeh. 2000. Controversies over Buddhist Nuns. Oxford: Pali Text Society.
Simmer-Brown, Judith. 2001. Dakini’s Warm Breath: The Feminine Principle in Tibetan Buddhism. 1st ed. Boston: New York: Shambhala : Distributed in the United States by Random House.
Sjoberg, Laura. 2011. Women, Gender, and Terrorism. Studies in Security and International Affairs LCNAMES. Athens: University of Georgia Press.
Smith, Bardwell L. 2013. Narratives of Sorrow and Dignity: Japanese Women, Pregnancy Loss, and Modern Rituals of Grieving. Oxford Ritual Studies. New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
Soucy, Alexander Duncan. 2012. The Buddha Side: Gender, Power, and Buddhist Practice in Vietnam. Topics in Contemporary Buddhism. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press.
Stag-śam Nus-ldan-rdo-rje. 1983. Mother of Knowledge: The Enlightenment of Ye-Shes mTsho-Rgyal. Tibetan Translation Series. Berkeley, CA: Dharma Pub.
Suksod-Bargar, Runchana P. 2014. Religious Influences in Thai Female Education (1889-1931). American Society of Missiology Monograph Series Religious Influences in Thai Female Education (1889-1931). Havertown: James Clarke & Co.
Swearer, Donald K. 2010. The Buddhist World of Southeast Asia. 2nd edition. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE. LCNAMES. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Talim, M. V. 2010. Life of Women in Buddhist Literature. Delhi: Buddhist World Press.
Tisdale, Sallie. 2006. Women of the Way: Dicovering 2,500 Years of Buddhist Wisdom. 1st edition. San Francisco Calif.]: HarperSanFrancisco.
Toomey, Christine. 2015. The Saffron Road: A Journey with Buddha’s Daughters. London: Portobello.
Tsomo, Karma Lekshe, ed. 2004. Feminist Philosophy: Buddhist Women and Social Justice : Ideals, Challenges, and Achievements. SUNY Series, Feminist Philosophy Buddhist Women and Social Justice. Ithaca, NY, USA: State University of New York Press.
———. 1995. Buddhism through American Women’s Eyes. 1st USA edition. Ithaca, N.Y.: Snow Lion Publications.
———. 1996. Sisters in Solitude: Two Traditions of Buddhist Monastic Ethics for Women: A Comparative Analysis of the Chinese Dharmagupta and the Tibetan Mūlasarvāstivāda Bhikṣuṇī Prātimokṣa Sūtras. SUNY Series, Feminist Philosophy. Albany: State University of New York Press.
———. 2000. Innovative Buddhist Women: Swimming against the Stream. Curzon Critical Studies in Buddhism. Richmond: Curzon.
———. ed. 2006. Out of the Shadows: Socially Engaged Buddhist Women. 1st edition.. Bibliotheca Indo-Buddhica ; No. 240. Delhi: Sri Satguru Publications, a division of Indian Books Centre.
———. 2008. Buddhist Women in a Global Multicultural Community. Malaysia: Sukhi Hotu Dhamma Publications.
———. 2014. Eminent Buddhist Women. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Tsomo, Karma Lekshe, and Inc NetLibrary. 1999. Buddhist Women Across Cultures: Realizations. SUNY Series, Feminist Philosophy. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Vicki Mackenzie author. 2017. The Revolutionary Life of Freda Bedi: British Feminist, Indian Nationalist, Buddhist Nun. First edition. Boulder, CO: Shambhala Publications, Inc.
Warner, Brad. 2010. Sex, Sin, and Zen: A Buddhist Exploration of Sex from Celibacy to Polyamory and Everything in between. Novato, Calif.: New World Library.
Wijayaratna, Môhan. 2010. Buddhist Nuns: The Birth and Development of a Women’s Monastic Order. Revised BPS edition. Kandy, Sri Lanka: Buddhist Publication Society.
Willis, Janice Dean. 2002. Dreaming Me: From Baptist to Buddhist, One Woman’s Spiritual Journey. 1st Riverhead trade paperback. New York: Riverhead Books.
Willson, Martin. 1996. In Praise of Tārā: Songs to the Saviouress : Source Texts from India and Tibet on Buddhism’s Great Goddess. Boston, Mass.: Wisdom Publications.
Wilson, Liz. 1996. Charming Cadavers: Horrific Figurations of the Feminine in Indian Buddhist Hagiographic Literature. Women in Culture and Society. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Schalk, Peter. 1995. A Buddhist Woman’s Path to Enlightenment: Proceedings of a Workshop on the Tamil Narrative Maṇimēkalai. Acta Universitatis Upsaliensis. Historia Religionum ; 13. Uppsala: Academiae Ubsaliensis.
Xu, Man. 2016. Crossing the Gate: Everyday Lives of Women in Song Fujian (960-1279). SUNY Series in Chinese Philosophy and Culture. Albany: State University of New York Press.
Yao, Yu-Shuang. 2012. Taiwan’s Tzu Chi as Engaged Buddhism Origins, Organization, Appeal and Social Impact. Leiden: BRILL.
Yin, Bhikshuni Wu. 2001. Choosing Simplicity: A Commentary on the Bhikshuni Pratimoksha. Ithaca, N.Y.: Snow Lion Publications.
Young, Katherine K. 1974. Images of the Feminine- Mythic, Philosophic and Human--in the Buddhist, Hindu, and Islamic Traditions: A Bibliography of Women in India. Chico, Ca: New Horizons Press.
Young, Serenity. 2004. Courtesans and Tantric Consorts: Sexualities in Buddhist Narrative, Iconography and Ritual. New York: Routledge.
Yu, Chun-fang. 2012. Passing the Light the Incense Light Community and Buddhist Nuns in Contemporary Taiwan. Topics in Contemporary Buddhism LCNAMES. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press.
Bibliography of Buddhism and Women - Articles, Book Reviews, Book Chapters
Bibliography of Buddhism and Women - Articles, Book Reviews, Book Chapters
Upali Sraman, Doctoral Student, Emory University
Ambros, B. R. (2016). A Rite of Their Own: Japanese Buddhist Nuns and the “Anan kōshiki.” Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 43(1), 207–250.
Analayo, B. (2010a). Chinese and Pāli Parallels On Women’s Inabilities. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/05/10/the-bahudhatuka-sutta-and-its-parallels-on-women%e2%80%99s-inabilities/
Analayo, B. (2010b). Early Buddhist Attitudes Towards Nuns. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/12/27/early-buddhist-attitudes-towards-nuns/
Analayo, B. (2011). Founding the Buddhist Order of Nuns. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2011/07/07/founding-the-buddhist-order-of-nuns/
Analayo, B. (2013a). The Legality of Bhikkhunī Ordination. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2013/09/22/the-legality-of-bhikkhuni-ordination/
Analayo, B. (2013b). The Revival of the Bhikkhunī Order and the Decline of the Sāsana. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2013/06/24/the-revival-of-the-bhikkhuni-order-and-the-decline-of-the-sasana/
Analayo, B. (2014). Karma and Female Birth. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2014/02/22/karma-and-female-birth/
Analayo, B. (2015a). The Buddha’s Past Life as a Princess. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2015/03/09/the-buddhas-past-life-as-a-princess/
Analayo, B. (2015b). The Cullavagga on Bhikkhunī Ordination. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2015/09/10/the-cullavagga-on-bhikkhuni-ordination/
Anālayo, B. (2016). The Going Forth of Mahāpajāpatī Gotamī. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2016/01/05/the-going-forth-of-mahapajapati-gotami/
Analayo, B., & Brahmāli, B. (2017). Canonical Exegesis in the Theravāda Vinaya. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2017/06/29/canonical-exegesis-in-the-theravada-vinaya/
Andaya, B. W. (2002). Localising the Universal: Women, Motherhood and the Appeal of Early Theravāda Buddhism. Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 33(1), 1–30. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0022463402000012
Appleton, N. (2011). In the Footsteps of the Buddha? Women and the Bodhisatta Path in Theravāda Buddhism. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 27(1), 33–51. https://doi.org/10.2979/jfemistudreli.27.1.33
Ashley, S. (2013). Narrating Identity and Belonging: Buddhist Authenticity and Contested Ethnic Marginalization in the Mountains of Northern Thailand. Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia, 28(1), 1–35.
Atsuko, U., & 薄井篤子. (2003). Women’s “Experience” in New Religious Movements: The Case of Shinnyoen. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 30(3/4), 207–216.
Bailey, C. (2009). Embracing the Icon: The Feminist Potential of the Trans Bodhisattva, Kuan Yin. Hypatia, 24(3), 178–196.
Bailey, H. W. (1950). The Tumshuq Karmavācanā. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 13(3), 649–670.
Barnes, N. J. (1994). Women in Buddhism. In A. Sharma (Ed.), Today’s Women in World Religions (pp. 137–169). Albany: State University of New York Press,.
Barnes, N. J. (2010). Review: Struggle for Liberation in the Therigatha. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/women-in-the-footsteps-of-the-buddha-struggle-for-liberation-in-the-therigatha/
Bartholomeusz, T. (1999). Mothers of Buddhas, Mothers of Nations: Kumaranatunga and Her Meteoric Rise to Power in Sri Lanka. Feminist Studies, 25(1), 211–225. https://doi.org/10.2307/3216684
Bartholomeusz, T. (2010). Review: Horrific Figurations of the Feminine. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/315/
Battaglia, L. J. (2015). Thailand’s Mae Chis and the Global Women’s Ordination Movement. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2015/02/11/thailands-mae-chis-and-the-global-womens-ordination-movement-2/
Bell, S. (1998). “Crazy Wisdom,” Charisma, and the Transmission of Buddhism in the United States. Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, 2(1), 55–75. https://doi.org/10.1525/nr.1998.2.1.55
Bivins, J. C. (2007). “Beautiful Women Dig Graves”: Richard Baker-roshi, Imported Buddhism, and the Transmission of Ethics at the San Francisco Zen Center. Religion and American Culture: A Journal of Interpretation, 17(1), 57–93. https://doi.org/10.1525/rac.2007.17.1.57
Blackstone, K. (2010a). Problems with Bhikkhunīs in the Pāli Vinaya. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/damming-the-dhamma-problems-with-bhikkhuniis-in-the-pali-vinaya-1/
Blackstone, K. (2010b). Review: Buddhist Nuns in Sri Lanka. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/294/
Borchert, T. (2008). Worry for the Dai Nation: Sipsongpannā, Chinese Modernity, and the Problems of Buddhist Modernism. The Journal of Asian Studies, 67(1), 107–142.
Boretti, V. (2004). The Quasi-Genderless Heresy: The Dhūtaists and Master Jizhao. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 67(3), 349–368.
Brown, D. (1974). Buddhism and Historical Thought in Japan before 1221. Philosophy East and West, 24(2), 215–225. https://doi.org/10.2307/1398025
Bühnemann, G. (1996). The Goddess Mahācīnakrama-Tārā (Ugra-Tārā) in Buddhist and Hindu Tantrism. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 59(3), 472–493.
Cadge, W. (2004a). Gendered Religious Organizations: The Case of Theravada Buddhism in America. Gender & Society, 18(6), 777–793. https://doi.org/10.1177/0891243204268324
Camp, B. (1974). Women in Thailand. Off Our Backs, 4(4), 6–6.
Carbonnel, L. (2009). On the Ambivalence of Female Monasticism in Theravāda Buddhism: A Contribution to the Study of the Monastic System in Myanmar. Asian Ethnology, 68(2), 265–282.
Carter, J. R. (1977). A History of “Early Buddhism.” Religious Studies, 13(3), 263–287.
Cassaniti, J. (2006). Richard G. Condon Prize: Toward a Cultural Psychology of Impermanence in Thailand. Ethos, 34(1), 58–88.
Chakma, K., & HILL, G. (2016a). For Sister or State?: Nationalism and the Indigenous and Bengali Women’s Movements in Bangladesh. In Dissident Friendships (pp. 91–116). University of Illinois Press. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5406/j.ctt1hd18pk.8
Chen, C. (2005). A Self of One’s Own: Taiwanese Immigrant Women and Religious Conversion. Gender & Society, 19(3), 336–357. https://doi.org/10.1177/0891243204273125
Chin, G. (1998). The Gender of Buddhist Truth: The Female Corpse in a Group of Japanese Paintings. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 25(3/4), 277–317.
Chung, I. Y. (2010). Rules for Bhikṣuṇīs and Bhikṣus. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/a-buddhist-view-of-women-a-comparative-study-of-the-rules-for-bhik-su-niis-and-bhik-sus-based-on-the-chinese-praatimok-sa/
Cohen, R. S. (1998). Nāga, Yakṣiṇī, Buddha: Local Deities and Local Buddhism at Ajanta. History of Religions, 37(4), 360–400.
Collett, A. (2006). Buddhism and Gender: Reframing and Refocusing the Debate. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 22(2), 55–84.
Collett, A. (2009a). Historio-Critical Hermeneutics in the Study of Women in Early Indian Buddhism. Numen, 56(1), 91–117. https://doi.org/10.1163/156852708X373276
Collett, A. (2014). Bhikkhave and Bhikkhu as Gender-inclusive Terminology in Early Buddhist Texts. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2014/12/05/bhikkhave-and-bhikkhu-as-gender-inclusive-terminology-in-early-buddhist-texts/
Collins, S., & McDaniel, J. (2010). Buddhist “nuns” (mae chi) and the teaching of Pali in contemporary Thailand. Modern Asian Studies, 44(6), 1373–1408.
Cook, J. (2009). Hagiographic Narrative and Monastic Practice: Buddhist Morality and Mastery Amongst Thai Buddhist Nuns. The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, 15(2), 349–364.
Costa, L. (2001). Genders and Sexualities in Modern Thailand. The Journal of Asian Studies, 60(1), 292–293. https://doi.org/10.2307/2659592
Dalton, J. P. (Ed.). (2011). Evil and Ignorance in Tantric Buddhism. In The Taming of the Demons (pp. 23–43). Yale University Press. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt5vkw2s.5
Dane, B. (2000). Thai Women: Meditation as a Way to Cope with AIDS. Journal of Religion and Health, 39(1), 5–21.
Davids, C. A. F. R. (1928). The Unknown Co-Founders of Buddhism: A Sequel. Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland, (2), 271–286.
De L. Young, D. N. (1970). The Sangha in Buddhist History. Religious Studies, 6(3), 243–252.
Derrett, J. D. M. (2006). Monastic Masturbation in Pāli Buddhist Texts. Journal of the History of Sexuality, 15(1), 1–13.
Derris, K. (2008). When the Buddha Was a Woman: Reimagining Tradition in the Theravāda. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 24(2), 29–44.
Dhammadinnā, B. (2015). Predictions of Women to Buddhahood in Middle-Period Literature. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2015/11/25/predictions-of-women-to-buddhahood-in-middle-period-literature/
Du, S. (2003). Is Buddha a Couple? Gender-Unitary Perspectives from the Lahu of Southwest China. Ethnology, 42(3), 253–271. https://doi.org/10.2307/3773803
Dugan, K. (2007). Buddhist Women and Interfaith Work in the United States. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 27, 31–50.
Dutton, G. (2013). Beyond Myth and Caricature: Situating Women in the History of Early Modern Vietnam. Journal of Vietnamese Studies, 8(2), 1–36. https://doi.org/10.1525/vs.2013.8.2.1
Evola, J. (1957). Spiritual Virility in Buddhism. East and West, 7(4), 319–327.
Findly, E. B. (1999). Women and the “Arahant” Issue in Early Pali Literature. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 15(1), 57–76.
Goodwin, A. A. (2012). A Reexamination of Buddhist Teachings on Female Inferiority. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2012/04/29/a-reexamination-of-buddhist-teachings-on-female-inferiority/
Gray, M. M., Kittilson, M. C., & Sandholtz, W. (2006). Women and Globalization: A Study of 180 Countries, 1975-2000. International Organization, 60(2), 293–333.
Groner, P. (1987). Annen, Tankei, Henjō, and Monastic Discipline in the Tendai School: The Background of the “Futsū jubosatsukai kōshaku.” Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 14(2/3), 129–159.
Gross, R. M. (1987). I Will Never Forget to Visualize That Vajrayoginī Is My Body and Mind. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 3(1), 77–89.
Gross, R. M. (1991). “I Go for Refuge to the Saṅgha”: A Response to Rosemary Ruether’s Paper. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 11, 230–239. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390267
Gross, R. M. (2010). The Crisis of Authority: Buddhist History for Buddhist Practitioners. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 30, 59–72.
Gupta, P. S. (1969). Songs of Indian Buddhist Poetess. Indian Literature, 12(2), 33–39.
Ha, V. S. (2008). The Harmony of Family and the Silence of Women: Sexual Attitudes and Practices among Rural Married Women in Northern Viet Nam. Culture, Health & Sexuality, 10, S163–S176.
Habito, R. L. F. (1999). Bodily Reading of the Lotus Sutra: Understanding Nichiren’s Buddhism. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 26(3/4), 281–306.
Haederle, M. (2014, May 13). Women in Buddhism Study Initiative, University of Hamburg. Lion’s Roar. Retrieved from https://www.lionsroar.com/profile-women-in-buddhism-study-initiative-university-of-hamburg/
Hallisey, C., & Hansen, A. (1996). Narrative, Sub-Ethics, and the Moral Life: Some Evidence from Theravāda Buddhism. The Journal of Religious Ethics, 24(2), 305–327.
Halperin, M. (2006). Domesticity and the Dharma: Portraits of Buddhist Laywomen in Sung China. T’oung Pao, 92(1/3), 50–100.
Hammerstrom, E. (2012, November 26). Review: Korean Buddhist Nuns and Laywomen. Retrieved September 24, 2017, from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2012/11/26/review-korean-buddhist-nuns-and-laywomen/
Hammerstrom, E. J. (2013). The Heart-of-Mind Method: Legitimating a New Buddhist Movement in 1930s China. Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, 17(2), 5–23. https://doi.org/10.1525/nr.2013.17.2.5
Hansen, A. (2003). The Image of an Orphan: Cambodian Narrative Sites for Buddhist Ethical Reflection. The Journal of Asian Studies, 62(3), 811–834. https://doi.org/10.2307/3591861
Harris, M. L. (2012). Buddhist Meditation for the Recovery of the Womanist Self, or Sitting on the Mat Self-Love Realized. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 32, 67–72.
Hayami, Y. (1998). Motherhood Redefined: Women’s Choices on Family Rituals and Reproduction in the Peripheries of Thailand. Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia, 13(2), 242–262.
Hefner, R. W. (2010). Religious Resurgence in Contemporary Asia: Southeast Asian Perspectives on Capitalism, the State, and the New Piety. The Journal of Asian Studies, 69(4), 1031–1047.
Heirman, A. (2008). Indian Disciplinary Rules and Their Early Chinese Adepts: A Buddhist Reality. Journal of the American Oriental Society, 128(2), 257–272.
Heirman, A. (2011). Buddhist Nuns: Between Past and Present. Numen, 58(5/6), 603–631.
Hirakawa, A., Tsomo, K. L., & Miura, J. (1992). The History of Buddhist Nuns in Japan. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 12, 147–158. https://doi.org/10.2307/1389961
Ho, T. C. (2011). Representing Burma: Narrative Displacement and Gender. PMLA, 126(3), 662–671.
Huang, C.-Y. J., & Weller, R. P. (1998a). Merit And Mothering: Women and Social Welfare in Taiwanese Buddhism. The Journal of Asian Studies, 57(2), 379–396. https://doi.org/10.2307/2658829
Ichiu, M., & 森一雨. (2003). Nichiren’s View of Women. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 30(3/4), 279–290.
Ikeya, C. (2008). The Modern Burmese Woman and the Politics of Fashion in Colonial Burma. The Journal of Asian Studies, 67(4), 1277–1308.
Ingram, P. O. (1997). Reflections on Buddhist-Christian Dialogue and the Liberation of Women. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 17, 49–60. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390398
Introvigne, M. (2005). Keeping the Faith: Thai Buddhism at the Crossroads. Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, 9(2), 126–128. https://doi.org/10.1525/nr.2005.9.2.126
Jordaan, R. E. (1997). Tārā and Nyai Lara Kidul: Images of the Divine Feminine in Java. Asian Folklore Studies, 56(2), 285–312. https://doi.org/10.2307/1178728
Jordt, I. (1988). BHIKKHUNI, THILASHIN, MAE-CHII: WOMEN WHO RENOUNCE THE WORLD IN BURMA, THAILAND AND THE CLASSICAL PALI BUDDHIST TEXTS. Crossroads: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 4(1), 31–39.
Josephson, J. Ā. (2006). When Buddhism Became a “Religion”: Religion and Superstition in the Writings of Inoue Enryō. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 33(1), 143–168.
Kabilsingh, D. B. Chatsumarn. (2010). Institutional Authority: A Buddhist Perspective. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 30, 147–157.
Keefe, A. A. (1997). Visions of Interconnectedness in Engaged Buddhism and Feminist Theology. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 17, 61–76. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390399
Keller, C. (1993). More on Feminism, Self-Sacrifice, and Time; Or, Too Many Words for Emptiness. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 13, 211–219. https://doi.org/10.2307/1389890
Keyes, C. F. (1977). Millennialism, Theravada Buddhism, and Thai Society. The Journal of Asian Studies, 36(2), 283–302. https://doi.org/10.2307/2053724
Keyes, C. F. (1984). Mother or Mistress but Never a Monk: Buddhist Notions of Female Gender in Rural Thailand. American Ethnologist, 11(2), 223–241.
Kim, H. (2009). Feminist Philosophy in Korea: Subjectivity of Korean Women. Signs, 34(2), 247–251. https://doi.org/10.1086/590977
Kim, H. (2009). The Adventures of a Japanese Monk in Colonial Korea: Sōma Shōei’s Zen Training with Korean Masters. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 36(1), 125–165.
King, R. (1995). Is “Buddha-Nature” Buddhist? Doctrinal Tensions in the Śrīmālā Sūtra: An Early Tathāgatagarbha Text. Numen, 42(1), 1–20.
King, U. (1987). World Religions, Women and Education. Comparative Education, 23(1), 35–49.
Kirsch, A. T. (1977). Complexity in the Thai Religious System: An Interpretation. The Journal of Asian Studies, 36(2), 241–266. https://doi.org/10.2307/2053722
Kirsch, A. T. (1985). Text and Context: Buddhist Sex Roles/Culture of Gender Revisited. American Ethnologist, 12(2), 302–320.
Kitiarsa, P. (2010). Missionary Intent and Monastic Networks: Thai Buddhism as a Transnational Religion. Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia, 25(1), 109–132.
Klein, L. (2013). Indic Echoes: Form, Content, and World Literature in Tang Dynasty Regulated Verse. Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR), 35, 59–96.
Klunklin, A., & Greenwood, J. (n.d.). Buddhism, The Status of Women and The Spread of HIV/AIDS in Thailand: Health Care for Women International: Vol 26, No 1. Retrieved September 24, 2017, from http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/07399330590885777
Lang, K. C. (1982). Images of Women in Early Buddhism and Christian Gnosticism. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 2, 94–105. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390077
Lang, K. C. (2010). Review: Gender, Religion, & Cultural Identity in the Nepal Himalaya. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/321/
Langenberg, A. (2014). Review: Power, Wealth and Women in Indian Mahāyāna Buddhism. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2014/02/13/review-power-wealth-and-women-in-indian-mahayana-buddhism/
Langenberg, A. P. (2014). Female Monastic Healing and Midwifery. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2014/02/22/female-monastic-healing-and-midwifery/
Lerdmaleewong, M. (2010). Abortion in Thailand. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/08/abortion-in-thailand-a-feminist-perspective/
Leshkowich, A. M. (2006). Woman, Buddhist, Entrepreneur: Gender, Moral Values, and Class Anxiety in Late Socialist Vietnam. Journal of Vietnamese Studies, 1(1–2), 277–313. https://doi.org/10.1525/vs.2006.1.1-2.277
Lieberman, Leanne. (1999). I Want to be a Princess: Japanese Women in the Workplace. Off Our Backs, 29(11), 13–13.
Lo, Y. K. (2005). Recovering a Buddhist Voice on Daughters-In-Law: The Yuyenü Jing. History of Religions, 44(4), 318–350. https://doi.org/10.1086/497803
Love, T. T. (1965). Theravāda Buddhism: Ethical Theory and Practice. Journal of Bible and Religion, 33(4), 303–313.
Lto, T. (2007). Dhammamātā: Buddhadāsa Bhikkhu’s Notion of Motherhood in Buddhist Women Practitioners. Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 38(3), 409–432.
Lu, H. (2002). Women’s Ascetic Practices during the Song. Asia Major, 15(1), 73–108.
Madsen, S. T. (1994). Globalisation, Demystification and Schism in Tibetan Buddhism. Economic and Political Weekly, 29(30), 1926–1928.
Malalasekera, G. P. (1964). The Status of the Individual in Theravāda Buddhism. Philosophy East and West, 14(2), 145–156. https://doi.org/10.2307/1396982
Martini, G. (2012). Vinaya Narrative and the Promulgation of the Rule on Celibacy: the Tibetan Version. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2012/06/08/vinaya-narration-and-the-promulgation-of-the-rule-on-celibacy-the-tibetan-translation/
Masako, K. (2011). A Hybrid Form of Spirituality and the Challenge of a Dualistic Gender Role: The Spiritual Quest of a Woman Priest in Tendai Buddhism. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 38(2), 369–385.
McClintock, S. L. (2011). Compassionate Trickster: The Buddha as a Literary Character in the Narratives of Early Indian Buddhism. Journal of the American Academy of Religion, 79(1), 90–112.
McDaniel, J. (1987). Self-Affirmation and Ego Transcendence: The Encounter of Christianity with Feminism and Buddhism. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 7, 215–232. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390244
McDaniel, J. (2010, April 26). Review: Portraits of Buddhist Women. Retrieved September 24, 2017, from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/26/review-of-the-monk-and-the-philosopher/
Meeks, L. R. (2006). Reconfiguring Ritual Authenticity: The Ordination Traditions of Aristocratic Women in Premodern Japan. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 33(1), 51–74.
Miller, J., & Carbone-Lopez, K. (2013). Gendered Carceral Regimes in Sri Lanka: Colonial Laws, Postcolonial Practices, and the Social Control of Sex Workers. Signs, 39(1), 79–103. https://doi.org/10.1086/670770
Mills, M. A. (2000). Vajra Brother, Vajra Sister: Renunciation, Individualism and the Household in Tibetan Buddhist Monasticism. The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, 6(1), 17–34.
Moerman, D. M. (2009). Demonology and Eroticism: Islands of Women in the Japanese Buddhist Imagination. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 36(2), 351–380.
Moothoo-Padayachie, N., Verity, C. (Leela), Nadar, S., Indlovu, L. A., Mvambo-Dandala, N., Scott, A., … Bell, D. (2004). Women Reclaiming Their Spiritual Spaces. Agenda: Empowering Women for Gender Equity, (61), 42–52.
Morrell, R. E. (1980). Mirror for Women. Mujū Ichien’s Tsuma Kagami. Monumenta Nipponica, 35(1), 45–50. https://doi.org/10.2307/2384399
Moto-Sanchez, M. M. (2016). Jizō, Healing Rituals, and Women in Japan. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 43(2), 307–331.
Muecke, M. (2004). Female Sexuality in Thai Discourses about Maechii (แม่ขี “Lay Nuns”). Culture, Health & Sexuality, 6(3), 221–238.
Muecke, M. A. (1984). Trust, Abuse of Trust, and Mistrust Among Cambodian Refugee Women: A Cultural Interpretation. In E. V. Daniel & J. C. Knudsen (Eds.), Mistrusting Refugees (pp. 102–125). University of California Press.
Nakamura, K. (1983). Women and Religion in Japan: Introductory Remarks. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 10(2/3), 115–121.
Nash, M. (1963). Burmese Buddhism in Everyday Life. American Anthropologist, 65(2), 285–295.
Nathan, D., Kelkar, G., & Xiaogang, Y. (1998). Women as Witches and Keepers of Demons: Cross-Cultural Analysis of Struggles to Change Gender Relations. Economic and Political Weekly, 33(44), WS58-WS69.
Nijhawan, S. (2012). At the Margins of Empire: Feminist-Nationalist Configurations of Burmese Society in the Hindi Public (1917—1920). The Journal of Asian Studies, 71(4), 1013–1033.
Nilsen, M. (2011). The Spirit of a Heroine: Ya Mo—Spirit Reverence, Patriotism and Thai Buddhism. Modern Asian Studies, 45(6), 1599–1625.
Noriko, K. (1994). [Review of Review of Buddhism after Patriarchy: A Feminist History, Analysis, and Reconstruction of Buddhism, by R. M. Gross]. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 21(4), 445–449.
Noriko, K., & 川橋範子. (2003a). Feminist Buddhism as Praxis: Women in Traditional Buddhism. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 30(3/4), 291–313.
Noriko, K., & 川橋範子. (2003b). Feminist Buddhism as Praxis: Women in Traditional Buddhism. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 30(3/4), 291–313.
Ohnuma, R. (2006). Debt to the Mother: A Neglected Aspect of the Founding of the Buddhist Nuns’ Order. Journal of the American Academy of Religion, 74(4), 861–901.
Ohnuma, R. (2007). Mother-Love and Mother-Grief: South Asian Buddhist Variations on a Theme. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 23(1), 95–116.
Orenstein, C. (2002). A Taste of Tibet: The Nuns of Khachoe Ghakyil Ling Nunnery and the Tháâtre du Soleil. Asian Theatre Journal, 19(1), 212–230.
Pandey, R. (2004). Medieval Experience, Modern Visions: Women in Buddhism. Monumenta Nipponica, 59(2), 223–244.
Paul, D. Y. (1981). Buddhist Attitudes toward Women’s Bodies. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 1, 63–71. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390100
Peach, L. J. (2002). Social Responsibility, Sex Change, and Salvation: Gender Justice in the “Lotus Sūtra.” Philosophy East and West, 52(1), 50–74.
Pechilis, K. (2013). Illuminating Women’s Religious Authority through Ethnography. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 29(1), 93–101. https://doi.org/10.2979/jfemistudreli.29.1.93
Peek, J. M. (1995). Buddhism, Human Rights and the Japanese State. Human Rights Quarterly, 17(3), 527–540.
Peressini, M. (Ed.). (2016). Tsultrim Palmo. In Choosing Buddhism (pp. 367–394). University of Ottawa Press. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt1c6v9jr.16
Perrett. (2010). Review: Women in Tantric Buddhism. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/287/
Pordié, L. (2007). Buddhism in the Everyday Medical Practice of the Ladakhi “Amchi.” Indian Anthropologist, 37(1), 93–116.
Prebish, C. S. (2007). Family Life and Spiritual Kinship in American Buddhist Communities. In American Religions and the Family (pp. 185–196). Columbia University Press. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.7312/brow13800.14
Prebish, C. S. (2010). Review: Buddhist Monastic Ethics for Women. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/04/07/a-review-of-sisters-in-solitude-two-traditions-of-buddhist-monastic-ethics-for-women/
Pye, M. (2002). Won Buddhism as a Korean New Religion. Numen, 49(2), 113–141.
Riviera, G. S. (2012). The Ultimate Protest: Women Self-Immolate in Tibet. World Affairs, 175(3), 69–74.
Ruether, R. R. (2011). Rita Gross as Pioneer in the Study of Women and Religion. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 31, 75–78.
Ruppert, B. O. (2002). Pearl in the Shrine: A Genealogy of the Buddhist Jewel of the Japanese Sovereign. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 29(1/2), 1–33.
Salgado, N. S. (1997). Sickness, Healing, and Religious Vocation: Alternative Choices at a Theravāda Buddhist Nunnery. Ethnology, 36(3), 213–226. https://doi.org/10.2307/3773986
Salgado, N. S. (2004). Religious Identities of Buddhist Nuns: Training Precepts, Renunciant Attire, and Nomenclature in Theravāda Buddhism. Journal of the American Academy of Religion, 72(4), 935–953.
Saunders, K. J. (1923). Buddhism in China: A Historical Sketch. The Journal of Religion, 3(3), 256–275.
Schipper, J. (2012). Toward a Buddhist Sociology: Theories, Methods, and Possibilities. The American Sociologist, 43(2), 203–222.
Schober, J. (1995). The Theravāda Buddhist Engagement with Modernity in Southeast Asia: Whither the Social Paradigm of the Galactic Polity? Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 26(2), 307–325.
Schopen, G. (1988). On Monks, Nuns and “Vulgar” Practices: The Introduction of the Image Cult into Indian Buddhism. Artibus Asiae, 49(1/2), 153–168. https://doi.org/10.2307/3250049
Shaffer, L. N., & Marcopoulos, G. J. (1986). Murasaki and Comnena: Two Women and Two Themes in World History. The History Teacher, 19(4), 487–498. https://doi.org/10.2307/493874
Shapiro, S. I. (1991). Contemporary Issues in the Americanization of Zen. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 11, 267–272. https://doi.org/10.2307/1390273
Sharma, A. (1977). How and Why Did the Women in Ancient India Become Buddhist Nuns? Sociological Analysis, 38(3), 239–251. https://doi.org/10.2307/3709804
Shufen, L. (2002). Ethnicity and the Suppression of Buddhism in Fifth-century North China: The Background and Significance of the Gaiwu Rebellion. Asia Major, 15(1), 1–21.
Simmer-Brown, J. (2011). Rita Gross’s Contribution to Contemporary Western Tibetan Buddhism. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 31, 69–74.
Simpson, B. (2004). Impossible Gifts: Bodies, Buddhism and Bioethics in Contemporary Sri Lanka. The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, 10(4), 839–859.
Siriwardena, S. (1973). The Education of Girls and Women in Ceylon. International Review of Education / Internationale Zeitschrift Für Erziehungswissenschaft / Revue Internationale de l’Education, 19(1), 115–120.
Smith, B. (1988). Buddhism and Abortion in Contemporary Japan: “Mizuko Kuyō” and the Confrontation with Death. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 15(1), 3–24.
Smith, B. G. (2010). Women in the Twentieth-Century World. In Essays on Twentieth-Century History (pp. 83–115). Temple University Press. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt14bt901.6
Söhnen, R. (1991). Indra and Women. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, 54(1), 68–74.
Sorensen, C. W. (1988). The Myth of Princess Pari and the Self Image of Korean Women. Anthropos, 83(4/6), 403–419.
Soucy, A. (2009). Language, Orthodoxy, and Performances of Authority in Vietnamese Buddhism. Journal of the American Academy of Religion, 77(2), 348–371.
Starling, J. (2013). Neither Nun nor Laywoman: The Good Wives and Wise Mothers of Jōdo Shinshū Temples. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 40(2), 277–301.
Stuart, M. J. (2013). Male Guardians of Women’s Virtue: A Dharmaśāstric Theme and Its Jain Variations. Journal of the American Oriental Society, 133(1), 35–56. https://doi.org/10.7817/jameroriesoci.133.1.0035
Stuart-Fox, M. (1983). Marxism and Theravada Buddhism: The Legitimation of Political Authority in Laos. Pacific Affairs, 56(3), 428–454. https://doi.org/10.2307/2758191
Stuart-Fox, M., & Bucknell, R. (1982). Politicization of the Buddhist Sangha in Laos. Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 13(1), 60–80.
Tantiwiramanond, D., & Pandey, S. (1987). The Status and Role of Thai Women in the Pre-Modern Period: A Historical and Cultural Perspective. Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia, 2(1), 125–149.
Tomalin, E. (2006). The Thai Bhikkhuni Movement and Women’s Empowerment. Gender and Development, 14(3), 385–397.
Tomita, K. (1944). Two Chinese Paintings Depicting the Infant Buddha and Mahāprajāpati. Bulletin of the Museum of Fine Arts, 42(247), 13–20.
Trinlae, B. L. (2010). Restoring Mūlasarvāstivāda Bhikṣuṇī Ordination. Journal of Buddhist Ethics. Retrieved from http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/2010/12/22/restoring-mulasarvastivada-bhik%e1%b9%a3u%e1%b9%87i-ordination/
Tsang, C. R. (2005). Marriage, Adoption, and Honganji. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 32(1), 53–83.
Tsomo, K. L. (1996). The Fourth International Conference on Buddhist Women. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 16, 217–220.
Tsomo, K. L. (2007). Sakyadhita Pilgrimage in Asia: On the Trail of the Buddhist Women’s Network. Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, 10(3), 102–116. https://doi.org/10.1525/nr.2007.10.3.102
Tsomo, K. L. (2015). Choices and Challenges: The North American Buddhist Immigrant Experience. In Strangers in This World (pp. 51–66). Augsburg Fortress, Publishers. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctt13wwwn6.7
Tsu, Y. Y. (1934). Buddhism and Modern Social-Economic Problems. The Journal of Religion, 14(1), 35–43.
Verma, V. (2010). Reinterpreting Buddhism: Ambedkar on the Politics of Social Action. Economic and Political Weekly, 45(49), 56–65.
Vichit-Vadakan, J. (1994). Women and the Family in Thailand in the Midst of Social Change. Law & Society Review, 28(3), 515–524. https://doi.org/10.2307/3054071
Walters, J. S. (1994). A Voice from the Silence: The Buddha’s Mother’s Story. History of Religions, 33(4), 358–379.
Wayman, A. (1991). The position of women in Buddhism. Studia Missionalia, 40, 259.
Willis, J. (2012). Yes, We’re Buddhists Too! Buddhist-Christian Studies, 32, 39–43.
Willis, J. D. (1985). Nuns and benefactresses: the role of women in the development of Buddhism. Women, Religion, and Social Change, 59–85.
Wing, S. (2011). Gendering Buddhism: The Miaoshan Legend Reconsidered. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 27(1), 5–31. https://doi.org/10.2979/jfemistudreli.27.1.5
Wong, W. C. A. (2009). Feminist Liberation and Studies of Women in Religion. Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, 25(1), 180–184. https://doi.org/10.2979/fsr.2009.25.1.180
Yoo, D. (1996). Enlightened Identities: Buddhism and Japanese Americans of California, 1924-1941. The Western Historical Quarterly, 27(3), 281–301. https://doi.org/10.2307/970141
Young, S. (2007). Female Mutability and Male Anxiety in an Early Buddhist Legend. Journal of the History of Sexuality, 16(1), 14–39.
Zhiru. (2000). The Emergence of the Sahā Triad in Contemporary Taiwan: Iconic Representation and Humanistic Buddhism. Asia Major, 13(2), 83–105.
Zhiru, S. (2010). Scriptural Authority: A Buddhist Perspective. Buddhist-Christian Studies, 30, 85–105.