Research Guides: AAS267W The Civil Rights Movement: Find Articles

Key Databases

Following is a SELECT list of databases that provide full text OR references to articles from secondary source journals - and in some cases to books and other secondary source materials - relevant for researching the American Civil Rights Movement.

See Databases@Emory for a complete list of the library's databases.

History & African American Studies Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index, Ethnic and Racial Studies
Content relates to the relationship between races and ethnicities. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, and community relations. Key sources include such as Race & Class, Ethnic & Racial Studies, and Journal of Social Issues.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Find it at Emory

When searching some of the databases below, you may notice that you can't access the full-text of some articles. Use the purple Find it at Emory button to do a quick search of Emory library databases to determine if the article exists somewhere else. You can also search for the title of the journal in Library Search.