Key Reference Sources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowMusic encyclopedia, offering coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music.Guide to scholarly literature. Over 100 articles on topics and individuals, with extremely useful bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowContent of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press, including The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAccess wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
- Harvard Dictionary of Music, 4th ed.An authoritative source for definitions and concise articles on musical topics and terms. No articles on people. Print edition: MUSICMEDIA REFERENCE ML100 .H37 2003
- Gale Biography in ContextParticularly useful for more recent artists. Contains full text of selected journal and magazine articles as well as reference works.
- Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America. Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship. Also includes streaming audio examples.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: MUSICMEDIA REFERENCE ML102 .P66 2003ISBN: 0826463215Publication Date: 2003-01-3010 volumes available in print. Later volumes titled Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World.
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music by Covering bebop to western swing by way of psychedelic rock, Phil Hardy's indispensable book maps out a stimulating and informative cultural history of the century in popular music.
