Ethnomusicology, World Music, and Folk Music Guide

An encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship. Also includes streaming audio examples.

This primary source music collection is mainly made up of digitized items from the University of Washington and UCLA Archives (including the Mantle Hood collection) and includes audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study, including sites in Europe, West Africa, North America, and South East Asia.

Guide to scholarly literature in the field of music. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Principal starting place for music research. Covers all styles, periods, and geographic regions. Part of Oxford Music Online.

Contains ethnographic collections covering aspects of cultural and social life. Search through subject indexing at the paragraph level. Materials include books, journal articles, and dissertations.

Content of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India, The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.)