University Archive Collections
This section contains a list of Emory University Archives collections that relate to the Civil Rights Movement. The Emory University Archives collects, preserves and makes available to researchers records and related materials that document the history and function of Emory University, as well as its predecessor schools and related organizations. The summaries listed here do not give the full contents of each collection. To learn more about a specific collection and its contents, please visit MARBL or email marbl@emory.edu. Please note that not all collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit. Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.
The Civil Rights Movement
EMORY UNIVERSITY. DIVISION OF CAMPUS LIFE (RG 300/Series 15) Records of the Student Government Association (Record Group 300: Series 15) include materials relating to activities and issues affecting the student body, including subject files relating to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund (box 22: folder 4), and race relations (box 22: folder 9). EMORY UNIVERSITY. LEGAL COUNSEL (RG 100/Series 5) Record Group 100: Series 5 consists of the office files of Henry Lumpkin Bowden (1910-1997), lawyer and Emory University trustee. Bowden also served Emory University legal counsel. The collection includes files related to Bowden's activities with Emory University, including correspondence about the integration of the University. Restriction: Portions subject to access restriction; special permission required for use. Note: Related materials in this repository are in the Emory University Archives. EMORY UNIVERSITY. STUDENT AND ACADEMIC SERVICES (RG 200/Series 17) Record Group 200: Series 17 contains folders on minority admission requirements (box 3), Black House (box 8: folder 29), the Black Student Alliance (box 6: folder 64 and box 8: folder 29), racism reports from 1969 to 1970, and papers on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund (box 4: folder 5). Box 6 also contains material about racial discrimination submitted by individuals and student organizations in the 1970s.
Student Government Association records, 1946- ; 12 linear ft.
Henry L. Bowden office files, 1970-1983; 17 linear ft.
Thomas L. Fernandez office files, 1967-1980; 5 linear ft.
Ask a Question
E-mail: rose.library@emory.edu
Phone: 404-727-6887
About Rose Library
Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.