Research Guides: African American History and Culture (Rose Library): Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movements

discoverE Search Terms for Rose Library Collections

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful Search Terms for Rose Library Collections:

"African American Author"

"African American Illustrator"

"African American Pamphlet"

"African American Publisher"

Dorothy Cotton, SCLC Lecture

C.T. Vivian Reads Sermon of William H. Scott

Practice

Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movements

This guide identifies collections related to Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movements. The Rose Library at Emory University houses a diverse body of primary sources associated with the African American experience, from literature and history to politics and popular culture. These include an extensive collection of correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.

The guide serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings related to Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movements with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in Rose Library and through DiscoverE, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog. DiscoverE contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in Rose Library as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. The online catalog is available at http://discovere.emory.edu. Finding aids for these sources are also available through Rose Library's Web site at http://findingaids.library.emory.edu/. Please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available.

Manuscripts A-Z

Arrington, Marvin S.
African American lawyer and Emory University alumnus. Papers include writngs and speeches by Arrington, writings about Arrington, and other materials. 1980- 2004.
more...less...
The collection consists of the papers of Marvin S. Arrington from 1980-2004. The papers include writings and speeches delivered by Marvin Arrington, writings about Marvin Arrington, materials relating to Arrington's role as president of the Atlanta City Council, correspondence, photographs, audio-visual material and collected material. Writings and speeches by and about Marvin Arrington discuss issues about the Atlanta City Council, Georgia and Atlanta politics, minority education, race relations in Atlanta, and minority lawyers.
Bergmark, Jean B. (MSS 1047)
Journalist and freelance writer, co-authored Grace Towns Hamilton and the Politics of Social Change with Lorraine Nelson Spritzer. Papers include material related to the book.
more...less...
The collection consists of the papers of Jean B. Bergmark from 1982-2005. The papers include material related to the research, writing, and publication of Grace Towns Hamilton and the Politics of Social Change, such as correspondence, publicity material, reviews and photographs. The correspondence is primarily between Bergmark and her co-author, Lorraine Nelson Spitzer, but also includes other correspondence related to the research and publication of the book. The biography was published by the University of Georgia Press in 1997 and commended in a resolution of the Georgia General Assembly in 1998. The photographs depict the authors at several book tour and signing events during these years. The collection also includes material from the "Women and the Constitution: A Bicentennial Perspective" symposium, which Bergmark helped to plan, including correspondence, program material, printed material, and the transcript of a speech by United States Supreme Court Justice, Sandra Day O'Connor.
Bernd, Aaron (MSS 1110)
Jewish writer, literary editor, and businessman. Papers include letters to and from Walter F. White of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1924-1934. 1919-37.
more...less...
Aaron Bernd was a Jewish writer, literary editor, and businessman. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, printed material, photographs, legal documents, and financial records. Correspondence primarily documents Bernd's professional activities as a literary editor and writer for The Macon Telegraph as well as his freelance literary endeavors. A large collection of personal letters from scholar and educator John Donald Wade concern faculty tenure negotiations at the University of Georgia in the 1920s. The correspondence also includes letters to and from Walter F. White of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1924-1934 concerning racial prejudice in the South, lynching, and contemporary literature.
Black Panther Party (MSS 998)
Collection of printed materials relating to and produced by the Black Panther Partyincluding fliers, newsletters, and press releases. 1965-76.
more...less...
The collection contains printed material produced by and related to the Black Panther Party from
1965-1976. Materials include fliers and handbills announcing Party activities such as rallies, concerts, and protests, press releases, newsletters, and other printed material regarding the political activities of the Party. Many of the fliers contain detailed information about the arrests and trials of Party leaders including Eldridge Cleaver, Bobby Seale, and Huey P. Newton. A number of fliers and printed material also concern the United Front Against Fascism campaign. Other materials in the collection include conference packets from the Revolutionary People's Constitutional Convention and a hand-lettered poster.
Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters (MSS 1173)
Selected records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, including correspondence between A. Philip Randolph, president of the union, and other labor organizers or government officials. 1925-80.
more...less...
This collection consists of the records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters (1925-1980), including correspondence, membership applications (1925-1930), printed material and administrative records. Correspondence is primarily between A. Philip Randolph and other labor organizers or government officials. Also included are three addresses given by Randolph in the 1950s.
Brown, Elaine (MSS 912)
African American activist and past leader of the Black Panther Party. Papers concern her activism from 1991-2000.
more...less...
Elaine Brown is an African American activist and past leader of the Black Panther Party. The papers include correspondence, video recordings, printed material, and manuscripts of her writings. The papers primarily concern Brown's writings and activism during the 1990s and contain almost no information concerning her involvement with the Black Panther Party apart from brief recollections in her correspondence.
Browning, Joan C. (MSS 821)
Papers of activist Joan C. Browning regarding her involvement as a Freedom Rider and in the Albany Movement in Georgia. 1961-96.
more...less...
The collection consists of the papers of Joan C. Browning from 1961-1996. The papers include correspondence, writings, and other materials pertaining mostly to her involvement as a Freedom Rider in the Albany Movement in Georgia. The Albany Movement/Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee materials consist of Browning’s letters from jail in Albany, Georgia, to her friend, Faye Powell, who resided in Atlanta. Browning writes about jail conditions, the importance of non-violent protest, the police officers in charge, her hunger strike, and the other individuals who were arrested. Also available are several letters or notes written by her fellow civil rights workers, mainly James Forman, Lenora Taitt, and Per W. Laursen, who were incarcerated with her. A large number of newspaper articles describing the events in Albany are included, on some of which Browning has written comments. There are also newsletters and news releases regarding the Albany Movement, a copy of Browning's Grand Jury arrest record, and two letters from her lawyer, C.B. King, of Albany, Georgia. A small notebook contains mainly notes she took while attending civil rights meetings and discussion groups from 1961-1962. Among these are notes she took at a town meeting at Atlanta University held on October 12, 1961 at which Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered a talk. King's original autograph, which was secured by Ms. Browning on the evening of the talk, is on a separate page.
Burnham, Louise E. (MSS 1164)
Collection of materials related to African American journalist and activist Louis Burnham including correspondence, notes, and writings. 1941-1960. See also Black Radicalism and the Left, Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movement.
more...less...
Louis Everett Burnham (1915-1960) was African American journalist and activist. Burnham was a member of the Southern Negro Youth Congress and served as editor of Freedom, a newspaper founded in 1951 by Burnham and Paul Robeson, and the National Guardian. The collection includes a small amount of correspondence, notes and other materials related to left-wing organizations, and writings, and printed material. Correspondence relates to the Southern Negro Youth Conference and his editorial work. Organizational material relates to the Southern Negro Youth Conference, the National Negro Labor Council, and Upholsters' International Union of North America. These materials include Burnham's notes, typewritten copies of speeches and resolutions, and a few newsletters and reports. Writings in this collection are by Burnham and other writers. Most concern race relations and the African American community. The writings by others probably are copies given to Burnham for editing. Printed material in this collection includes newspaper clippings about Burnham's death and a flier for the Louis E. Burnham fund. The collection also includes court documents related to the murder trial of James Morris Johnson in Pennsylvania in 1948-1951.
Cleage, Pearl (MSS 1223)
Personal papers of African American author and playwright Pearl Cleage including personal journals, writings, correspondence, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual material. 1966-2011. See also African American Theatre, Black Print Culture, Family Papers,
Literature, and Religion.
more...less...
The collection consists of the papers of African American author and playwright Pearl Cleage from circa 1966-2011. The papers include personal journals, writings, correspondence, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual material. The writings include manuscript and typescript drafts of her works of fiction, plays, poetry, and newspaper and magazine articles. The correspondence is comprised of letters to colleagues, friends, editors, producers, and reviewers; as well as her family. Of particular interest are letters written to family, beginning with her enrollment at Howard University in 1967 and continuing through the 1980s. These letters provide partial documentation of her earliest creative efforts, and especially her growing radicalism during her undergraduate years. The audiovisual material consists of recordings of productions of Cleage's plays, readings, and performances; as well as recordings of Albert B. Cleage, Jr. sermons. The photographs include images of Pearl Cleage, her family, and other African American women writers; as well as photographs used in the publication of Catalyst. The collection also contains printed material, including newspaper clippings and published articles by and about her; as well as reviews of her works.
Crawford, Matt N. and Evelyn Graves (MSS 882)
Organization files, writings, collected printed materials, subject files, and personal papers of African American activists Matt and Evelyn Crawford. The collection also includes miscellaneous materials and correspondence from or relating to poet Langston Hughes. 1932-67. See also Black Radicalism and the Left, Literature.
more...less...
The Matt N. and Evelyn Graves Crawford papers include organization files, writings, collected printed materials, subject files, personal papers and Langston Hughes materials. The largest part of the collection includes materials relating to organizations in which Matt Crawford took an active role, primarily during the 1940s and 1950s, including the National Negro Congress (ca. 1946-1947); the Congress for Industrial Organizations (1943-1947); the Communist Party (1940-1956); The Civil Rights Congress (1946-1950); and the Council for Civic Unity (1943-1947). There are also files relating to organizations in which there was a relationship to Crawford's work and in which he had an interest. The writings primarily include Matt Crawford's holograph notes relating to Negro History and to a variety of subjects affecting the Negro in the 1940s. Also present is a small group of personal papers, including awards presented to Matt Crawford; commencement programs; and birthday celebration items. The Langston Hughes materials include fifty-six items of correspondence to both Matt and Evelyn Crawford (1932-1967) and writings, including typescripts of Hughes's works of poetry, prose, drama and music. Many of the items are signed; some include dedication notes.
Crowe, Milbourn J. (MSS 1084)
Founder of Mound Bayou Historical Society. Papers include correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, and printed material related to the history of Mound Bayou, Mississippi. 1889-2005. See also Business, Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movement.
more...less...
Milbourn James Crowe was born in Mound Bayou, Mississippi and became dedicated to preserving the history of Mound Bayou, an all-African American community founded by Isaiah T. Montgomery and Benjamin T. Green, former slaves of Joseph Davis, brother of Jefferson Davis. This collection consists of the papers and collected material of Milbourn J. Crowe, including correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, and printed material, all of which relate to the history of Mound Bayou, Mississippi. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs of Mound Bayou residents, many of which are unidentified, from the 1910s through 2005. Additional material includes community records and histories which document the establishment of the town by Isaiah T. Montgomery and Benjamin T. Green and its growth throughout the 20th century. Also included are legal records and local business ledgers, including those of P.R. McCarty's Store. Of particular interest are abstracts of land titles, which summarize the various legal actions that affected the ownership of land parcels in Mound Bayou, beginning in 1889. The collection also includes a small amount of correspondence addressed to Crowe, in addition to memorabilia, and a diary which Crowe began in the 1980s.
Curry, Constance W. (MSS 818)
Papers of educator and civil rights activist Constance W. Curry, including correspondence, minutes, printed material, clippings, posters, a video cassette, and photographs. 1951-97.
more...less...
The collection consists of the personal papers of author, attorney, community organizer, and political activist. Constance W. Curry from 1951-1997. The papers include materials relating to her civil rights activities, personal papers, and printed material. The first series includes minutes, correspondence, publicity and other records from civil rights and student organizations, particularly the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), Southern Student Organizing Committee (SSOC), and National Student Association (NSA). The second series includes papers from her high school years, papers from her college courses at Agnes Scott College, Agnes Scott publications (including college newspapers), and a small amount of material concerning her work with the Atlanta city government and the Chamber of Commerce. Also included is a typed manuscript draft of her book Silver Rights. The third series consists of a large collection of newspaper clippings covering various aspects of the civil rights movement as well as publications from a variety of organizations concerned with social change and civil rights. The fourth series contains a VHS copy of a documentary produced by Constance W. Curry entitled, The Intolerable Burden.
Dana, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (MSS 1033)
Materials collected by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Dana primarily concerning the rape trials of the Scottsboro Boys, including correspondence, broadsides, and newspaper clippings. 1932-8.
more...less...
The collection primarily contains materials collected by teacher, lecturer, and writer Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Dana concerning the rape trials of the Scottsboro Boys from 1932-1940 including correspondence, broadsides, and newspaper clippings. The majority of the collection concerns activities that took place in Boston, Massachusetts. Published pamphlets accompanying the collection have been cataloged.
Davis, Angela Y. (MSS 1133)
Artificially-created collection of material related to Angela Y. Davis, mostly concerning her arrest and trial, including fliers, newsletters, articles, and unpublished writings. 1970-84.
more...less...
This artificially created collection includes printed material and unpublished writings. The bulk of the collection consists of fliers, newsletters, and other printed material created by committees such as the National United Committee to Free Angela Davis organized to advocate for Davis following her arrest in 1970. The printed material also includes newspaper and magazine articles about Davis and campaign material related to her run for Vice President in 1980 and 1984. The unpublished writings in this collection include speeches by Davis to the National Alliance Against Racist and Political Oppression.
Derby, Doris Adelaide (MSS 935)
Papers of Doris Adelaide Derby, African American artist, eductator, and activist, including correspondence, printed material, and photographs. 1960-92.
more...less...
The collection contains the personal papers of African American educator, activist, and artist Doris Adelaide Derby from 1961-1992. The papers include organizational files, personal papers, subject files, teaching material, audiovisual material, photographs, and printed material. The majority of the organizational files consist of material related to the Poor People's Corporation and its affiliates, Liberty House and Southern Media. The collection also contains minutes, printed material, fliers, and brochures related to African Americans in the south, poverty, voter registration, and civil rights organizations such as Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Cooperative League Fund, Mississippi Freedom Project, and others. Derby's personal papers include correspondence, notebooks, and writings. Of considerable interest in the teaching materials are those related to the Child Development Group of Mississippi and the beginning of the Head Start program. The majority of the photographs depict various programs in which Derby was involved, but are not taken by Derby herself.
Finger, John A. (MSS 1051)
Research material and reports collected and and written by John A. Finger concerning school desegregation cases from circa 1960-1979.
more...less...
John Adams Fingers, Jr. was a professor of Education at Colgate University, Brown University and Rhode Island College. Finger served as a consultant to the NAACP for school desegregation cases during the 1960s and 1970s. The collection contains research material and reports collected and written by John A. Finger concerning school desegregation cases from ca. 1960 to 1979. The case files contain notes, reports, and maps, and are roughly arranged by state.
Good, Paul (MSS 1025)
Audio recordings and interviews conducted by journalist PaulGood during the civil rights movement. 1963-64.
more...less...
Paul Joseph Good, Jr. (1929-2005) was a television and print journalist known for his coverage of the civil rights movement. The papers consist of audio recordings (26 CDs) compiled by journalist Paul Good concerning the civil rights movement. The recordings include speeches; reports from marches, rallies, and clashes over school integration; and interviews of civil rights leaders such as Andrew Young, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lewis and of Klan Wizard Robert Shelton.
Gremley, William H. (MSS 1076)
Papers of civil rights activist and sociologist William H. Gremley, including correspondence, photographs, printed material, writings, and audiovisual material. 1941-88. See also Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movement, Expatriate Writers and Artists.
more...less...
William H. Gremley (1913-1992) was a civil rights activist, sociologist and human relations official. The collection also includes correspondence from Gremley to his wife Mary from 1946 to 1966, discussing his thoughts towards integration and other racial and political issues. Writings include drafts of his articles which appeared in America and the British Journal of Sociology, among other publications. Printed material includes articles by Gremley in addition to articles and clippings about Gremley and his work in Chicago, Kansas City, Missouri, and Cleveland, Ohio. A significant portion of the material consists of records collected during Gremley's tenure as the Executive Director of the Kansas City Commission on Human Rights and includes correspondence, commission memorandums and reports, and clippings. The collection also includes photographs and digitized home movies, one of which includes footage of Richard Wright's wife and daughter.
Harding, Vincent (MSS 868)
Papers of African American historian and civil rights activist Vincent Harding documenting his work in Atlanta, Georgia, with the Mennonite Church, Spelman College, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Center; and the Institute of the Black World. See also Education.
more...less...
The papers of Vincent Harding, theologian, historian, and activist, document his work with the Mennonite Church, Spelman College, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Center, the Institute of the Black World, and include subject files, writings, printed materials and personal papers. The bulk of the collection includes papers from Harding's years in Atlanta, Georgia (1966-1974). The largest part of the collection consists of papers of The Institute of the Black World (1968-1974), which Harding directed from its inception as a component of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Center (1969) through its early years as an independent organization (1970-1974). Included in the papers of the Institute are correspondence, including general correspondence (1968-1974) and a large number of inter-office and committee memoranda. These papers also include files documenting Harding's teaching career at Spelman College in Atlanta, Georgia (1966-1969); his tenure as the first director of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Center and the Library Documentation Project at the Center from 1968-1970; and his work with the Mennonite Church from 1968-1970. There are also extensive files of printed materials in various formats indicating a wide interest in a variety of topics. In the subject files there is evidence of his commitment to establishing programs relating to African American curricula in colleges and universities (1960s). There is also evidence of his interest and participation in many national efforts and organizations relating to African American causes.
Harleston, Edwin Augustus and Elise F. (MSS 1161)
Family papers of Edwin Augustus Harleston, African American artist, his wife, Elise, and his niece Edwina Harleston Whitlock. The papers include correspondence, personal papers, sketchbooks and other artwork, writings by Harleston and Whitlock, research files, printed material, and a small number of photographs. 1900-2002. See also Art and Art History, Photography.
more...less...
The collection consists of the family papers of African American artist and activist Edwin Augustus and his wife photographer Elise F. Harleston. The papers include correspondence (1903-1963), personal papers (1902-1936), sketchbooks and other artwork (1907-1930), writings by Harleston (1918-1931), printed material (1905-1937), and a small number of photographs (circa 1860s-1910). Materials consist of both originals and duplicates. Also included are the papers of the Harlestons' niece, Edwina Harleston Whitlock, who extensively researched her family history. Whitlock's papers consist of her research files on the Harleston family and African American history, writing projects on the life of Edwin Harleston (circa 1960-2005), and her personal files (1926-2006).
Jones, Paul R. (MSS 1187)
Personal papers of Paul R. Jones, including printed material, correspondence, photographs, subject files, and audiovisual material. 1928-2010. See also Art and Art History, African American Theatre.
more...less...
Paul R. Jones was an African American art collector, businessman and activist. The collection consists of the personal papers of Paul R. Jones, including printed material, correspondence, photographs, subject files, and audiovisual material. Materials document Jones' involvement in the African American arts community, as well as his work with VISTA, ACTION, the Model Cities Program, and the Committee to Re-elect the President [Richard Nixon].
Killens, John Oliver (MSS 957)
Papers of John Oliver Killens, African American novelist, essayist, screenwriter, and political activist, including correspondence, writings by Killens, writings by others, and printed material. 1937-87. See also African Americans and Africa , Black Radicalism and the Left, Literature.
more...less...
John Oliver Killens was an African American novelist, essayist, screenwriter, political activist, mentor and teacher. The collection consists of the personal papers of John Oliver Killens including correspondence, writings by Killens, writings by others, and printed material. The papers document his personal, intellectual, professional and political life. The correspondence includes family letters, incoming and outgoing correspondence, correspondence with various organizations and with publishers. The writings by Killens series includes critical writings; forewords and prefaces; essays; speeches; novellas and novels; plays; screenplays; scripts; and story ideas. The collection also includes writings by colleagues and students, printed material, and miscellaneous papers.
Nelson, Jack (MSS 1237)
Papers of Pulitzer Prize winning southern journalist Jack Nelson, including subject files, writings, printed material, correspondence, photographs and sound and video recordings.
more...less...
Jack Nelson was a Pulitzer Prize winning investigative journalist, was the Los Angeles Times Washington, D.C., bureau chief from 1975-1996, and the paper's chief Washington correspondent until his retirement in 2001. His first job as a reporter was for the Biloxi Daily Herald in the late 1940s. Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Nelson reported on news all over the South and became known for breaking exclusive stories. In 1960, while working for the Atlanta Constitution, he won the Pulitzer Prize for uncovering abuse at a Milledgeville mental hospital. In 1964, the editor of the Los Angeles Times recruited Nelson to open the paper's Atlanta bureau. He is best known for his coverage of the murder of Viola Liuzzo, the Orangeburg Massacre, the F.B.I.'s use of agents provocateurs in Meridian, Mississippi, and the Watergate scandal. The collection consists of the papers of Jack Nelson, including subject files, writings, printed material, correspondence, photographs and sound and video recordings.
Newsweek, Inc. Atlanta Bureau Records (MSS 629)
Records of the Atlanta Bureau of Newsweek magazine including newspaper clippings, collected materials, correspondence, drafts of articles, photographs, and reporters' notes. 1954-79.
more...less...
The Atlanta bureau was the hub of Newsweek’s southern network. The collection consists entirely of subject files from the Atlanta Bureau of Newsweek magazine from 1953-1979. These subject files were created during the process of researching and writing a story. The subject files are comprised of newspaper clippings, collected materials, correspondence, drafts of articles, photographs, and reporters' notes. Originally filed in a single folder, the material inside each subject file has now been separated and arranged by format to facilitate access.
Patterson, Louise Thompson (MSS 869)
Papers of African American social activist Louise Thompson Patterson including subject files, correspondence, Langston Hughes materials, personal papers, photographs, and audiovisual materials; as well as some papers relating to her husband, William L. Patterson. 1909-96. See also Black Radicalism and the Left, Literature.
more...less...
Louise Thompson Thurman Patterson was an important figure in the Harlem Renaissance and an active campaigner for civil rights, racial and sexual equality, economic justice, and international human rights. The collection includes extensive correspondence with Langston Hughes; correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union, 1932; documentation of the Harlem Suitcase Theatre co-founded with Langston Hughes; and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women’s organization co-founded with Beah Richards. MARBL also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.
Pitts vs Freeman School Desegregation Case Files (MSS 1036)
The files consist of records relating to Pitts v. Freeman, a DeKalb County school desegregation case, including legal memos, newspaper clippings, transcriptions, expert reports, and other materials relevant to the case.
Pomerantz, Gary M. (MSS 890)
Research files, notes, and interviews with transcripts for Gary M. Pomerantz's first book, Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family and his third book, Wilt, 1962: The Night of 100 Points and the Dawn of a New Era. 1991-96.
more...less...
Gary M. Pomerantz, author and journalist with the Washington Post and the Atlanta Journal Constitution, is the author of several books. The collections consists of the papers of Gary Pomerantz relating to the publication of his book, Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn (1996), a chronicle of the lives of the Dobbs and Allen families of Atlanta, Georgia. The papers include research files and audio tapes and transcripts of interviews.
Scott, William H. (MSS 1082)
Papers of William H. Scott, an African American Baptist minister and political activist, and his son William H. Scott, Jr. from 1848-1982, including correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, broadsides, sermons, writings, and other collected material. See also Black Print Culture, Family Papers, Religion.

more...less...
William H. Scott (1848-1910), Baptist minister and political activist, was one of the original members of the Niagara Movement, predecessor organization to the NAACP. The collection consists of the papers of the William H. Scott family from 1878-1918, and includes correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, pamphlets, broadsides, sermons, writings, and other collected material of William H. Scott and his son William H. Scott, Jr. The majority of the correspondence concerns the political activities of William H. Scott. Also of interest in the collection are a number of letters written by William H. Scott, Jr. to his wife while he was serving in the military from 1918-1919. The correspondence details black life in the army during the Jim Crow era. Scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings from African American newspapers concerning politics, African American history, and family history. Sermons and writings are by both William H. Scott and William H. Scott, Jr. Photographs are mostly of family members and many were taken by William H. Scott, Jr. Printed material consists of pamphlets and announcements concerning political and religious activity in the African American community in Massachusetts and Washington, DC, during the early 20th century. The collection also includes a Civil War era sword.
Southern Christian Leadership Conference Records (MSS 1083)
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, American Civil Rights organization, including files from various offices, departments and programs, printed material, photographs, audiovisual material, artifacts and memorabilia.

more...less...
The collection consists of the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) from 1957-2007 (bulk 1968-2003), including records from various offices and departments; files of various programs; financial and legal records; printed material; photographs; audiovisual materials; and artifacts and memorabilia. Material in the collection documents the nonviolent direct action initiatives of the organization, including boycotts, marches, rallies, protests, hearings, and other programs designed to secure and protect civil rights in America. The records reflect not only the day to day administration of the organization, but also the planning and management of special programming and events, and the involvement of individual leaders in the wider religious, political, and civil rights communities.
Southern Regional Council, "Southways" sound recordings (MSS 933)
Audio recordings of weekly documentary radio show “Southways,” which explored a diverse range of topics having to do with the South.
more...less...
"Southways" was a weekly documentary radio show which explored a different person, place or event in the South. The "Southways" audio recordings consist of reel-to-reel and cassette tapes of "Southways" programs. The recordings cover a diverse range of topics from "Illiteracy in Savannah," "The Houma Indians of Louisiana," "Growing Up in the [Mississippi] Delta," to "Phosphate Mining in Florida," "High School Brass Band of New Orleans," and "Louisiana and David Duke." Besides these topical shows, "Southways" also featured profiles of intriguing southerners such as Stetson Kennedy, folklorist, historian and infiltrator of the Ku Klux Klan, as well as musicians Etta Baker, the "Queen" of the Piedmont blues, and "Queen Ida" Guillory, a Louisiana-born Zydeco musician who rose to prominence far from the bayou out on the West Coast.
Southern Regional Council, "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" Program Files (MSS 934)
Program files and sound recordings from the award winning radio documentary, "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?: An Audio History of the Civil Rights Movement in Five SouthernCommunities and the Music of Those Times," produced by the Southern Regional Council(SRC).
more...less...
"Will the Circle Be Unbroken?: An Audio History of the Civil Rights Movement in Five Southern Communities and the Music of Those Times" is an awarding-winning radio documentary. Produced by the Southern Regional Council (SRC), it chronicles the struggle to end segregation in Atlanta, Georgia, Columbia, South Carolina, Jackson, Mississippi, Little Rock, Arkansas, and Montgomery, Alabama. The "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" program files consist of interview transcripts, audiovisual materials, scripts, program research files, and production files. The largest part of the collection is made up of materials related to the interviews that give "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" its unique perspective. Series 1 and Series 2 contain transcripts and tapes of interviews conducted by the SRC as well as transcripts and tapes from other archival repositories. Besides the interviews, the audiovisual materials also include rough mixes of the individual episodes of "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" Series 3 contains materials the documentary's staff used to develop scripts for the twenty-six episodes, including notes, outlines, drafts, and outtakes, and final versions of the scripts.
Sullivan, Leon Howard (MSS 1086)
Papers of African American Baptist minister and civil rights activist Leon Howard Sullivan. 1969-2000. See also African Americans and Africa , Civil Rights and Post-Civil Rights Movement, Religion.
more...less...
The collection consists of the papers of Leon Howard Sullivan and includes correspondence, organization and subject files, writings, printed material, and audiovisual material. The organization files consist of selected records of the Opportunities Industrialization Centers (OIC), Sullivan Summits, and the International Foundation for Education and Self-Help (IFESH). Subject files contain material related to South Africa and Sullivan's efforts to change corporate business practices and end apartheid. Writings include drafts of his published works, speeches, and the Sullivan principles. The collection also includes material related to his tenure as minister of the Zion Baptist church, such as drafts of his sermons and general administrative files. Printed material includes clippings and other material pertaining to Sullivan, OIC and Africa.
Sullivan, Patricia: Progressive Party Oral History Interviews (MSS 621)
Collection of oral history interviews done by history professor Patricia Sullivan with members surrounding the 1948 Progressive Party campaign. 1975-82.
more...less...
Patricia Sullivan has served as a member of the history faculty at Emory University and as director of the Center for the Study of Civil Rights at the Carter G. Woodson Institute for Afro-American and African Studies, Charlottesville, Virginia. The collection consists of oral history interviews with persons involved in the 1948 Progressive Party campaign in the South conducted by Patricia Sullivan from 1975-1982. Interviewees include John Abt, Randolph Blackwell, William Holmes Borders, James Dombrowski, Virginia Durr, Floyd Hunter, Curtis MacDougall, Claude Pepper, John Popham, Glenn Rainey, Pete Seeger, Studs Terkel, Strom Thurmond, and F. Palmer Weber. The collection also includes transcripts of portions of the interviews.
Universal Negro Improvement Association (MSS 1066)
Records of the Universal Negro Improvement Association including correspondence, administrative records, photographs, writings, printed material, and material relating to other organizations. 1924-72. See also African Americans and Africa , Black Print Culture, Black Radicalism and the Left, Religion.

more...less...
Thomas Watson Harvey (1893-1978) was a leader in the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA). He served in the United States Army before becoming involved with the UNIA in 1919. He was associated with Marcus Garvey as a part of the Pan-African movement. Harvey was elected President-General of the UNIA from 1950-1978. He died on June 27, 1978, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The collection contains papers of Thomas W. Harvey from circa 1924-1972 related to his involvement with the Universal Negro Improvement Association. The papers include pamphlets and other printed material, photographs, rare periodicals correspondence, including 80 letters signed by Marcus Garvey, and reports of the UNIA.

Vivian, C.T. and Octavia (MSS 1286)

Papers of C.T. and Octavia Vivian including correspondence, printed materials, photographs, audiovisual material, and subject files. C.T. Vivian was an African American civil rights activist and minister who worked with the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC). 1923-2019.

Walker, Alice (MSS 1061)
Papers of Alice Walker, an African American poet, novelist, and activist, including correspondence, manuscript and typescript writings, writings by other authors, subject files, printed material, publishing files and appearance files, audiovisual materials, photographs, scrapbooks, personal files and journals. 1930-2009.

more...less...
Alice Walker is an African American poet, novelist, and activist. The collection documents the development of Walker's writing career, her interest in political activism, and her personal relationships with friends and family. The collection also contains material about Walker's many interests, including civil rights, Zora Neale Hurston, female genital mutilation, Bessie Head, Cuba, Mumia Abu-Jamal, and women's rights. The papers include correspondence (1958-2007); drafts of poetry, novels, essays, and other writings (1961-2006); writings by other authors; subject files (1968-2006); printed material (1961-2007); publishing files and appearance files (1966-2009); audiovisual materials (1962-2007); photographs (circa 1930s-2006); scrapbooks (1959-1996); personal files (1958-2006); and journals. Significant correspondents include Barbara Christian, Angela Davis, Joanne Edgar, John Ferrone, bell hooks, Langston Hughes, June Jordan, Susan Kirshner, Mel Leventhal, Audre Lorde, Marilyn Lowen, Wilma Mankiller, Charles Merrill, Tillie Olsen, Gloria Steinem, Wendy Weil, and Howard Zinn.
White, Walter and Gladys Powell (MSS 1171)
Family papers of Walter and Gladys Powell White, and their children, Jane White and Carl Darrow White, including audiovisual material, baby books, correspondence, legal material, and photographs. 1890-2010. See also Family Papers.
more...less...
Walter Francis White was an African American civil rights activist and leader of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1931-1955. Walter White married Leah Gladys Powell (1893-1979) in 1922, and they had two children, Jane (1922-) and Walter Carl Darrow (1927-1975). The collection consists of the family papers of Walter and Gladys Powell White, including audiovisual material, baby books for Jane and Carl White, correspondence, legal material, and photographs. Correspondence consists primarily of letters to Jane White regarding permissions for her father's estate. There are few pieces of correspondence between family members. Legal material contains birth certificates, marriage announcements, divorce papers, and death certificates of various family members. The photographs are primarily of Gladys Powell's family and the children, Jane and Carl.
Without Sanctuary Atlanta Exhibition Project Files (EAU Series 60)
The collection includes materials related to both the exhibition of Without Sanctuary: Lynching Photography in America in Atlanta, Ga. and a conference on the topic held at Emory University in 2002 entitled "Lynching and Racial Violence in America: Histories and Legacies."
Wright, Sarah E. (MSS 1180)
Papers of African American novelist and poet Sarah E. Wright, including correspondence, financial records, writings, photographs, speeches, subject files, printed material, and audiovisual material. 1955-2005.

Research Guide

Rose Library Research Services

Email Me

Contact:

10th floor, Woodruff Library

404-727-6887