Russian Studies Librarian
Film Studies Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to RUSS 271W/IDS 285W: Imperial Russian Literature. This guide is divided into sections by resource type. For a complete list of databases and library tools go to libraries.emory.edu.
Contact Sofia Slutskaya directly if you need help at any point during your research. Include a brief description of the topic you are researching. Feel free to schedule in-person or zoom consultation.
Visit Emory Libraries Research Help page for answers to the most frequently asked questions about library research.
Get Help with Research at the Libraries
The Emory Libraries provide a number of ways for your to get help with your research. Don't hesitate to get in touch with a question! We can help you locate materials, structure a search, develop your topic, evaluate materials, manage citations, and more.
Contact a Subject Librarian - our librarians specialize in different subjects and topic areas and can help with different aspects of the research process.
All librarians offer consultations on Zoom or can connect with you over email. On our Subject Librarian directory page, you will see a "Schedule a Consultation" link for each individual. You can click that to see their calendar and schedule a Zoom appointment with them at a convenient time.
Ask a Librarian - if you aren't sure who to contact directly, or you have a more general question, use our form on our Ask a Librarian page to get help.
Writing Center - if you need help with any aspect of the writing process, get in touch with the Emory Writing Center, who are also doing virtual appointments this summer.
ECDS - you can set up a consultation with ECDS to get help with a variety of digital projects, including working with data, digital humanities projects, online exhibits, or websites.
And if you are unsure who to ask or how to get help, you can always contact Sofia Slutskaya directly.
Ukrainian News
Ukrainian news (in English) via Factiva - Emory users only. Includes the following three sources:
- Ukrinform: The National News Agency of Ukraine;
- Kyiv Post;
- BBC Monitoring Ukraine & Baltics
Ukrainska Pravda (in English)
NV: The New Voice of Ukraine
Ukraine World
Euromaidan Press
The Kyiv Independent
Kyiv Post
Russian Newspapers
- Current Digest of the Russian Press"Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.Current issues of The Current Digest of the Russian Press include content from such news sources as: Ekspert, Izvestiia, Kommersant, Meduza, Moscow Times, New Times, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Novaia gazeta, RBC Daily, Republic.ru, Rossiiskaia gazeta, Sovetskaia Rossiia, Trud, and Vedomosti."
- Izvestiia Digital Archive"Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles."
- Pravda Digital Archive"Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics."
- Russian Central Newspapers"Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. They include official publications (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Rossiiskie vesti), popular and business newspapers (Argumenty i fakty, Moskovskii komsomolets, Komsomolskaia pravda, Kommersant, Vedomosti), trade publications (Gudok, Stroitel’naia gazeta, Ekran i scena, Uchitel’skaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta)..."
- Post-Perestroika Newspapers Digital Archive (DA-PPN)"The Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid 1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia, some with breathtaking speed, all the while embracing innovative journalistic methods and standards that were a far cry from the journalism of the Soviet period. These newspapers, some of which had a relatively short lifespan, nevertheless provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history. Comprised of over a dozen titles, the collection is a unique treasure trove for students and historians of one of the most fascinating periods of Russian history."
- Russian Newspapers: European Online NewspapersThis website provides links to the major Russian newspapers.