Boilerplate content for Rose Library research guides

Visit Rose Library's website

Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

Can't find what you need at Rose Library? Here are some other options to try:

Pitts Theology Library Archives and Manuscripts Department
The Archives and Manuscripts Department of Pitts Theology Library houses collections relating to Methodism in the South, the history of Christianity in South Africa, British religious history, and hymnody.

WorldCat
A worldwide union catalog maintained collectively by over 9,000 member institutions. WorldCat contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.

Appointments to use Rose Library materials are strongly encouraged. Not all manuscript collections are housed onsite. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, please make an appointment, register and request materials via our website.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, or questions regarding Rose Library's researcher policies, please email rose.library@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services or call us at 404-727-6887.

The EmoryFindingAids database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include:

Search or Browse EmoryFindingAids

E-mail: rose.library@emory.edu
Phone: 404-727-6887

Use Library Search to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

The materials found in archives represent the bias of archivists. By choosing what materials are preserved in archival institutions, archivists both implicitly and explicitly determine what stories are excluded from the archives. Many marginalized communities continue to be underrepresented in archival collections and in the archives profession.

Suggested readings on bias in archives and among archivists:

• Farmer, Ashley. "Archiving While Black," The Chronicle of Higher Education, July 22, 2018.