! END: CSS -->Skip to Main Content
The first step in identifying primary source material is to read the bibliographies and scan the footnotes in secondary works on your subject. Read also the preface and acknowledgments: authors often identify particularly useful works, libraries, or archives there.
Some of the types of materials you will use as primary sources are:
1. Newspaper and journal articles written at the time of the events.
2. Personal records, memoirs and diary accounts written by those who witnessed or who participated in the events.
3. Records and publications of governments or governmental agencies involved in the events.
The web site of the Israeli parliament lists members, current political factions, committees, elections statistics and reproduces various documents of importance.
Major Knesset Debates, 1948-1981
Translation of the major Knesset debates dealing with the critical issues in Israel’s history from 1948 to 1981.
Israel's Foreign Policy: Selected Documents
18 volumes Documents cover 1947-2001 with emphasis on the period 1977-2001.
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: The Middle East 1916-2001: Documentary Record
Provides many important documents from various sources pertaining to the history of Israel.
Berichte aus Israel 12 volumes (2004)
Stacks DS119.8 .A9 B493 2004
Reports from Austrian diplomatic officials stationed in Israel from 1946 to 1972. Most of the documents are offical reports although those for the years 1946-1949 are from a variety of unofficial sources. A supplement covers the years 1927-1938.
Political and Diplomatic Documents, December, 1947-May, 1948. 2 volumes (1979)
Stacks DS126.4 .I69 1979
Contains documents relating to the policy of the Jewish Agency Executive and Politcal Departments. From the World Zionist Organization's Central Zionist Archives.
Political Documents of the Jewish Agency. 2 volumes (1996-1998)
Stacks DS126.4 .J48 1996
Covers the period from May, 1945 to November, 1947.
Access World News (coverage varies)
Contains varying years of coverage for the following papers: Ha'aretz, Hatzofe, Jerusalem Times, Ma'ariv and Yediot Aharonot (tip: click on "World," then Israel, and then click on "BBC Selected Newspaper Articles"). Also contains Jerusalem Post and a couple of Palestinian news sources.
Search a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Online edition of the daily newspaper.
Online edition of the daily newspaper, with an archive of the past year's issues.
Issues from 1989 to the present are available on Newsbank Access World News
1925-1932 Micfilm 3532