Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

English Literature Research Guide: Locating Biographical Information

This is a general overview of the resources available in the subject area.

Oriental with Beard, Reading a Book

Henry Singleton.  Courtesy of the National Gallery of Art, Rosenwald Collection.
https://images.nga.gov/en/page/show_home_page.html

For book-length biographies

 

Search discoverE by subject’s name, "biography."

For More Concise Biographical Information

Dictionary of Literary Biography (1978 – present)
Reference Collection, Level 2
Robert W. Woodruff (Main) Library
Classified with subject of each volume. Long articles prepared by scholars. Each volume is cataloged separately. You may locate all the volumes in the set by looking up the series title in discoverE. An online version, along with many other sources, is available through:

Literature Resource Center Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and much more.

Biography & Geneology Master Index Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.


Biography Resource Center
A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications. In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.

For other suggestions, see the full listing of resources available to locate biographical information.

Subject Guide

Sarah Morris's picture
Sarah Morris