Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

English Literature Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles

This is a general overview of the resources available in the subject area.

Multi-discipline Databases for Articles

JSTOR
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to scholarly journals and books in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences.
 

Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

St. George and the Dragon

Courtesy of the New York Public Library.
  www.nypl.org  Image ID:  427138

Databases for Literary Works

Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains over 125,000 titles from 1473 to 1700.  Images and searchable transcriptions from the first book printed in English by William Caxton through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Eighteeth Century Collections Online
Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century.  With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

Oxford Bibliographies Online.  American Literature  
Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides authoritative essays and citations about the periods, authors, movements, and works of American literature.

Oxford Bibliographies Online.  British and Irish Literature 
This database provides authoritative essays and citations about the periods, authors, movements, and works of British and Irish literature.

Oxford Bibliographies Online.  Victorian Literature 
Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature provides authoritative essays and citations about the periods, authors, movements, and works of American literature.

Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. 

Past Masters
Full-text electronic editions of classic western philosophical, theological and literary authors, from ancient times to the early twentieth century and including personal writings as well as major works. All texts available in English translation. Some texts also available in Latin, French, or German.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and early 2014.

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Sarah Morris's picture
Sarah Morris