Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & More
Try These First!
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1967-present)
Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the
political science discipline and its complementary fields, including
international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- PAIS International
(1971 to present)
Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy,
social policy and the social sciences. Can be searched concurrently
with Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (1983-present)
Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics,
geography, law and criminology, political science, social work,
sociology, and international relations. Print edition is available at :
Reference AI3 .I53 (1974-date).
- Web of Science
Great for citation tracking; be sure to declick the science and arts and humanities sections when searching.
Other Useful Databases
- Philosopher's Index (1967- )
The preeminent indexing and abstracting tool for philosophy. Indexes
all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish and
Italian as well as selected journals in other languages and related
disciplines. Since 1980, also includes coverage of books in English.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Detailed information on most major philosophers and philosophical
concepts. A publication of the Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the
Study of Language and Information.
- Alternative Press Index
Archives articles from the independent and alternative presses. The
Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social
sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and
theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples,
gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Avaialble
- Arts and Humanities Search
From Galileo. Searches various journals and periodicals on arts and
humanities topics. Often includes articles on philosophy.
- Left Index
Provides access to literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on
politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the
academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known
sources of news and ideas. Topics covered include politics, economics,
the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and
ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics,
philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.