Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

Educational Studies Research Guide

Other Data Resources


The Electronic Data Center in Woodruff Library (Room 217) can help you:

  • Identify data sources that are relevant, reliable and useful for research in the social sciences and other disciplines.
  • Archive and catalog quantitative and spatial data holdings for convenient user access.

The center also:

  • Provides workstations that provide users with access to statistical and mapping software.
  • Supports the use of quantitative data and geospatial technologies as an integral part of Emory University's teaching curriculum.
  • Provides online and classroom instruction on issues regarding data access and resources, geographic information systems, and other geospatial technologies.

Information from the Web

 

Be sure to evaluate carefully the information you find on the web.  For this class, countries' official government home pages may provide good links to information on their educational systems.

Good examples include:

Australia

England (OFSTED - The Office of Standards in Education)

Mexico (Home page of the nation's Secretary of Education)

 

Other good internet sources for comparative education information and background information:

UNESCO
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization; of particular interest are the links to national education strategies.

NAFSA Online Guide to Educational Systems around the World

These PDF documents are updates to the 1999 publication A Guide to Educational Systems Around the World (an update to The Handbook on the Placement of Foreign Graduate Students, published in 1990 and colloquially known as the "Graduate Handbook").



Eurydice
Information network on education in Europe; provides education information for European Union countries


World Bank


Human Rights Watch


CIA - The World Factbook

 

Google Scholar
Provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides direct linking to Emory Libraries' holdings.