Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Zotero

Zotero collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's free and easy to use.

Videos on Adding References

Quick Demo of saving things into Zotero using the browser connector:

 

Here are some additional ways to get things into your Zotero Library:

Create a Reference from a PDF

Add a PDF to your Zotero library and Zotero will automatically attempt to retrieve metadata for PDFs you add, whether you:

  • drag-and-drop them into your Zotero library
  • choose “Link to File…”/”Store Copy of File…”, or
  • click the “Save to Zotero” button on a PDF in the browser.

Collecting References from databases, library catalogs & websites

You can save references into Zotero with one click from most library catalogs (including Emory's discoverE catalog) and databases, and even some regular web pages.

If the Zotero connector in your browser detects that you're looking at a record for a book or article in a catalog, database, or a site like Amazon.com or the New York Times, the Zotero connector will display a book or page icon. Just click the icon to save the citation into your Zotero library.

If you're on a page of search results with many items, the Zotero browser connector will display a folder icon instead. Click the folder to get a list of all the items on the page, and check off the ones you want to save.

To save multiple items from a database or discoverE search, use the Zotero "folder" icon:

To save multiple items from a search results page, click on the folder icon and select the items you want to save into Zotero.


To save a single item from discoverE, click the "book" icon.
 

To save an individual book record from discoverE into Zotero, click on the Zotero connector book icon


Save an individual article in a database by using the "page" icon:

 

To save an article record from a database, click on the Zotero connector page icon.

Add a Reference Using ISBN, DOI or PMID Number

Add a reference from an ISBN, DOI or PMID number. Click on the "wand" icon in your Zotero library and type the number into the box. Hit enter. If Zotero can find a matching number it will download a reference.

To add a reference using an ISBN, DOI or PMID number, select the wand icon in your Zotero library. Type or paste the number into the box and enter. If zotero can find a matching number it will download a reference.

Collecting References -- Web Sites

Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from some web pages, but you can still add them to your Zotero library.

Click the blue page icon to save a record of the page, a link to the page, and a "snapshot." A snapshot is a copy of the page saved. It includes the page's text and images, so if the page is removed later you'll still be able to refer to it. Snapshots of web pages become searchable items in your Zotero library.

Click the Zotero connector web page icon to save a web page.