Boilerplate content for research guides

Emory subject librarians are specialists who can help with your research needs. You can schedule a research consultation for personalized, one-on-one assistance. Click here to see the full list of librarians.

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can:

• borrow books and more from other libraries
• get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

The Emory Center for Digital Scholarship located on the third floor of the Robert W. Woodruff Library and provides assistance with locating numeric and spatial data for research purposes. Please note that ECDS does not advise patrons on methodological issues or assist them with doing their data analysis.

For more information on services and staff hours, please visit the ECDS homepage.

Emory's MediaLab provides resources and technology for graphic design, video, audio, and image editing, web development, and 3D modeling. The space is staffed with experienced student technology specialists to assist our users with their creative endeavors. 

MediaLab is located across from the Marian K. Heilbrun Music and Media Library service desk, on Level 4 of Woodruff Library.

MediaLab can be contacted at (404) 727-0495 or SDL@emory.edu

Emory students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from the University of Georgia, Georgia Tech, and Georgia State by presenting an Emory ID.

They have also limited borrowing privileges at some local libraries. Before planning your visit, you must get an interlibrary use card from the Library Service Desk on Level 2.

For more information, please visit our page on borrowing materials from local libraries.

Visit Rose Library's website

Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.

Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

For hours, services, and guides to the collection please see the Rose Library page.

E-mail: rose.library@emory.edu
Phone: 404-727-6887
In Person: Woodruff Library, 10th floor

Rose Library hours: Monday-Friday, 10:00-4:00, Saturday By Appointment Only

Appointments to use Rose Library materials are strongly encouraged. Not all manuscript collections are housed onsite. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, please make an appointment, register and request materials via our website.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, or questions regarding Rose Library's researcher policies, please email rose.library@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services or call us at 404-727-6887.

The EmoryFindingAids database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include:

• A description of the collection's creator
• A description of the contents
• A list of boxes and folders in which materials are stored

The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Search or Browse EmoryFindingAids

Can't find what you need at Rose Library? Here are some other options to try:

Pitts Theology Library Archives and Manuscripts Department
The Archives and Manuscripts Department of Pitts Theology Library houses collections relating to Methodism in the South, the history of Christianity in South Africa, British religious history, and hymnody.

WorldCat
A worldwide union catalog maintained collectively by over 9,000 member institutions. WorldCat contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.