Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Music 204QW - Archetto - Spring 2021

Steps for Finding Scholarly Articles

Look for article citations in these places:

  • the databases on this page.
  • bibliographies and footnotes in literature you already have.

Find out if the article is available at Emory:

  • Look up the journal title in eJournals @ Emory or discoverE.
    • Avoid the Number 1 mistake!  Search the title of the journal (not the article).
    • DiscoverE has a drop-down menu where you can specify Journals before searching.
    • When you find a journal, check whether Emory has the specific volume or year you need.
  • The Find-it-at-Emory buttons can simplify your search, but may not be up to date.  Check the journal title in discoverE to be sure.
     
  • Consider how useful the article may be to you.  Is it from a scholarly or popular source?  How long is it?

If Emory doesn't have the article you want,

  • Request it through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Expect to wait at least two weeks for delivery.
  • Most articles are provided free to students.

Music Databases:

These databases cover the field of music in depth.  Use them to find journal articles and other publications.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, RILM Abstracts covers all literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English. Coverage begins with 1967. Truncation symbol: *. Wildcard: ? for one character, * for multiple characters.

Oxford Music Online

Offers combined access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2d ed., 2006), the Oxford Companion to Music (2002), and Grove Music Online. The latter source provides in-depth coverage of music of all styles, periods, and cultures, and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.

Music Index Online
Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Coverage begins with 1979.  Caution: omit punctuation other than quotation marks (for phrases).  Truncation symbol: $.  Wildcard for any number of characters: $.

International Index to Music Periodicals
Try this for popular music.  Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for selected titles indexed in their entirety.  Abstracts are provided for articles published after 1995.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases help you search the literature of various fields simultaneously.

Academic Search Complete
A large multidisciplinary database offering full text of over 5000 periodicals.  Also indexes and abstracts other types of publications.  Coverage dates vary, with some content going as far back as 1865.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
A multidisciplinary collection of academic journals in digitized form.   Not current—for any journal, coverage begins with vol. 1 but lacks the most recent 2-5 years, by agreement with the publisher.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Try the "Advanced Scholar Search" to focus your search.  Be aware that the links to Emory content sometimes yield false negatives.  Always search EUCLID before you conclude that Emory doesn't own the cited source.

LexisNexis Academic

Full-text access to news (1980- ), business, medical, educational, and legal sources.  A key source for newspaper articles.

Databases @ Emory
Find databases in all disciplines.


Scholarly-journal articles are appropriate for academic papers.
Characteristics of scholarly publications:

  • Report on primary research
  • Written by experts in the field
  • Written for other researchers/scholars
  • Use terms and language that are discipline-specific
  • Usually include in-text citations and a bibliography of cited sources
  • May include graphs, charts, etc. related to the topic
  • Often are peer reviewed by an editorial board of experts
  • Published by a professional organization or society, university, research center, or scholarly press.

Examples include Cambridge Opera Journal, Opera Quarterly, Journal of Musicology, American Music, Music & Letters, and Musical Quarterly.

Non Scholarly or popular-journal articles may be useful when:

  • your topic is so current that scholars haven't written much about it.
  • you need first-hand, contemporaneous reports (such as a newspaper or magazine review by a person who attended a work's premiere).

Characteristics of Popular Publications:

  • Contain general information that appeals to a wide audience
  • Written by journalists or others who are not professionals in that field
  • Use easily understood language
  • Usually do NOT include citations or a bibliography
  • Limited or non-existent editorial review
  • May contain glossy photographs.

Examples include the New Yorker, Time, Down Beat, Rolling Stone, and Variety.