Women and Family in Roman Law and Life

Reference Universe
Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
The most recent major reference work on ancient history.

Brill's New Pauly
Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, and interaction between Greek and Roman culture with others (Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, etc.). Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs. Brill's New Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly.

Cambridge Collections Online
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon. The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains a number of reference works relevant to Roman history:

• The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
• Who's Who in the Classical World
• Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World

The Cambridge Ancient History
Vols. 1-14

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference CB311 .E54 2002 vols. 1 -3

The Roman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia

DG16 .E76 2018  

Encyclopedia of the Roman empire
Reference DG270 .B86 2002

De Imperatoribus Romanis ("On the Rulers of Rome")
DIR is an on-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453).

Before you begin your search in our catalog, please sign into your library account.

Sign into Library Account - To access My Account, log in and click the My Account link. My Account enables you to:view your current check-outs, requests, and fine information. You can also use other automated library services, The e-shelf allows you to save and organize items that you find during your discoverE session. You can also save your searches in the catalog. To access e-Shelf, click the e-Shelf link at the top of the page. If you would like to learn how to save you searches in you library account, please check out the helpful suggestions on the My discoverE Account page.

Emory University's Library Catalog

discoverE - Use the library's catalog to locate books, e-books, journals, videos, microfilms, government documents, etc.

Core Databases

Please begin your research with the "Core Databases" listed below.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. (Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865)

Historical Abstracts indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). (Coverage 1995-present)

JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in various fields.

 (Coverage: Varies. The most recent 3-5 years are not included)

Project Muse provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses.

  (Coverage: Varies)

The WorldCat is helpful in searching the holdings of several libraries in the United States as well as many libraries abroad.

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Requests and Recalls

If a book you're looking for is at Oxford College, at the Library Service Center, or checked out, don't fear!

Books that are at the Library Service Center or at Oxford can be requested, and checked out books can be recalled.

In discoverE:

• click the "Get It" link
• this will open a new window displaying the full record of the item
• click on the orange Request button and follow directions

You'll be notified by email when the item is available.

NOTE: if the item is checked out, the borrower has two weeks to return it.

Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)