Through Emory Libraries, you have access to a variety of History databases. You can review the database descriptions to determine which of them are useful given your particular research topic. Some frequently used History databases include:
ACLS Humanities E-Book
The book titles are full-length, searchable, and have been recommended and reviewed by scholars. Contains works of significance to their field useful resources for scholars and students.
America: History and Life
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Archives Unbound
Topically-focused collections of historical documents that support research and study. Materials range across area studies and disciplinary fields.
Historical Abstracts
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975 (ProQuest History Vault)
Includes documents from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Prominent topics include women's rights, tax reform, civil rights, the War on Poverty, and more.
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts
Digital National Security Archives
Contains declassified U.S. government documents covering policy towards world events, especially in the areas of foreign policy and intelligence.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online
Content of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press.
ProQuest History
Contains 38 historical databases covering primary sources such as newspapers, magazines, government documents, first-hand accounts, and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
A database that provides access to journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
Legislative:
Hein Online U.S. Code: Editions of the U.S. Code back to 1925 and earlier Federal laws compilations
Hein Online U.S. Congressional Documents: Congressional Record and predecessor titles 1789-current
Hein Online U.S. Federal Legislative History Library: Compiled federal legislative histories
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1626-1926: Historical U.S. legal materials, early U.S. state codes, constitutional conventions, and city charters
ProQuest Legislative Insight: Compiled legislative histories with all documents related to a Public Law. Congress in Congress with documents related to historical events by session of Congress.
ProQuest Congressional: Search for U.S. Congressional publications including bills, Public Laws, the Congressional Record, hearings, House and Senate Reports, and CRS Reports. Search by bill or Public Law number, Congress, or full-text.
Executive:
UCSB American Presidency Project: Searchable database of Public Papers of the Presidents, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and documents on the First Ladies, elections, party platforms, statements of administration policy, White House Press briefing transcripts, and Presidential Debate transcripts
Hein Online: Public Papers of the Presidents and predecessor collections
Hein Online: Code of Federal Regulations 1938-current
Hein Online: Federal Register 1936-current
Hein Online U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals: Reports, decisions, and records from U.S. federal agencies
Foreign Relations of the United States: The official historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity. Available on Hein Online and from the U.S. State Department Office of the Historian
Judicial:
Hein Online: U.S. Supreme Court Library: U.S. Reports bound volumes, preliminary prints, and slip opinions 1754-current
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs 1832-1978: Records and briefs of historical U.S. Supreme Court cases
Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records from the US Court of Appeals, 1890-1980.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers : PDF images of historical newspapers, generally from the 19th century to the early 200s.. The collection includes:
America's Historical Newspapers (Readex): A digital collection of historical newspapers from the seventeenth to the mid-20th century.
Access World News (NewsBank): Historical collections include the Georgia Historical Newspaper Collection
If you are researching a particular conflict or war, you may want to narrow your research even further to find particular materials, such as government documents, audio or video files, journal or newspaper articles, or other types of sources that focus on that particular conflict. For conflicts that involved several countries over many years, you may need to focus your research on a particular country, battle, political leader, or event. Some resources that may be helpful to you include:
ProQuest Civil War Era
Provides searchable full text of pamphlets and the op-ed pieces from two major collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale; and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865. Also includes biographies, campaign literature, government documents, newspapers, and more.
Sabin Americana
Collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the 1500s to the early 1900s. Focuses on original accounts of discovery and exploration, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and more.
American History, 1493-1945
Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.
First World War: Personal Experiences
Contains primary source materials related to the First World War, and a range of secondary features. Materials include diaries, journals, letters, scrapbooks, and more.
National Archives World War I Records
Repository of American World War I records, including information documenting the U.S. experience in this conflict, photographs, documents, audiovisual recordings, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events.
National Archives World War II Records
Records include casualty lists, electronic records, D-Day records, and materials on the Holocaust.
National Socialism, Holocaust, Resistance and Exile 1933-1945
The database provides primary sources for the following research topics: National Socialist state and policy, ideology and propaganda, National Socialist justice and legislation, History of the NSDAP, Holocaust, Resistance and Persecution in the “Third Reich,” Annihilation and Expulsion, and Deportation and Exile.
Harvard Law School's Nuremberg Trial Project
Includes trial transcripts, briefs, documents, books, and other papers from the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany.
Manhattan Project Historical Resources
Resources from the Department of Energy, including reports and documents
Service Newspapers of World War II
Wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world during and several years following World War II.
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam, 1946-1975
This database includes translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts.
Archives Unbound: Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963
Contains U.S. Department of State and Department of Commerce’s documentation on Korea from 1930-1963, including the period of Japanese military rule to the postwar period.
The Virtual Vietnam Archives at Texas Tech University
The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains 7 million pages of scanned materials. Materials include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for download.
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam, 1946-1975
This database includes translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts
Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
Contains U.S. documents concerning South and North Vietnam. Prominent topics include the Vietnam War, politics, religion, and events in Cambodia and Laos, and more
Foreign Relations of the United States, Guide to Sources on Vietnam, 1969-1975
Guide to archival resources, organized by Administration. Includes materials on military strategy, political relations with other countries, correspondence, and other historical documents.
Electronic Records Relating to the Vietnam War
This collection includes data about military operations, combat incidents, and counterinsurgency records.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 18, 2025 - November 2, 2025)*:
Monday - Thursday: 8am - 12am
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - 12am
*Extended hours begin Monday, November 3, 2025.
Reference Desk (August 18, 2025 - December 11, 2025):
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm, 2:30pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
