Select Digital Projects
-
Who Owns Black Data?Conference organized around the question: Who owns and controls the Black historical and cultural record?
Newspapers
-
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowAccess periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
-
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess various historical newspapers that span from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
-
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Access a diverse range of primary source materials from the 18th and 19th century America. Includes the Colonial Period, major wars, African-American History, the Industrial Revolution and more.
Books
Emory is a member of the HathiTrust digital archive. It contains downloadable books that are out of copyright. See for example David Walker's Appeal.
Digital Schomburg - Contains early writings by African American Authors
North American Slave Narratives - Repository of narratives from UNC Chapel Hill
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century - Older but valuable site with information about Black Women Writers.
Primary Source Portals
-
Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowAccess primary sources for a wide variety of themes and topics. Materials concentrate on English language archival documents from the UK and the U.S.
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch a large number of primary source databases.
-
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new windowEnables searching across all available Readex collections, including historic newspapers, books, pamphlets, and government publications from the Americas and Africa.