Linguistics Websites
-
University of Wisconsin-Madison's Open Educational Resources for Self-Instructional Learners of Less Commonly Taught LanguagesThis book is a living resource created by participants in UW-Madison’s “Multilanguage Seminar,” a course designed and first taught by Professor K.D. Thompson and later taught by Dr. Colleen Hamilton and Dr. Adeola Agoke. It contains materials created by self-instructional learners of various less commonly taught languages (LCTLs) and reviews of books related to self-instructional language learning.
A mailing list and website for linguists, The Linguist List provides information on language and linguistic analysis. The site hosts archives of more than 100 additional linguistics mailing lists and contains a database of language and language-family information and recommendations for digitizing data on endangered languages.
Linguistic Resources on the Internet
This page from SIL (Summer Institute of Linguistics) International bills itself as "a topically organized list of resources elsewhere on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist." Covers the principal categories of linguistic research.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Online edition allows one to find information regarding geographic distribution of languages, languages of special interest, nearly extinct languages, etc. Browse by language name, language family, or country name. Includes maps.
Autoethnography Resources
-
Handbook of Autoethnography
by
ISBN: 9780429431760Publication Date: 2021-07-21The second edition of the award-winning Handbook of Autoethnography is a thematically organized volume that contextualizes contemporary practices of autoethnography and examines how the field has developed since the publication of the first edition in 2013. Throughout, contributors identify key autoethnographic themes and commitments and offer examples of diverse, thoughtful, effective, applied, and innovative autoethnography. -
Autoethnographies of Plurilingualism
by
ISBN: 9781032585352Publication Date: 2024-09-05This collection spotlights the authentic voices of plurilingual learners, bringing together autoethnographies of over twenty graduate students toward deepening current understandings of lived experiences of plurilingualism.
-
The AutoEthnographerThe AutoEthnographer magazine is an award-winning, non-profit, open-access, peer-reviewed literary and arts magazine dedicated to presenting the creative side of autoethnography, a method of qualitative inquiry that unites autobiography and ethnography by utilizing lived experience as evidence with which to explore cultural phenomena.