Getting Started - Reference Sources - CPLT 202W "Let Black Kids be Kids: Rethinking Black Childhood Through Literature and Media" - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Reference Works

Reference works

Provide an overview of your topic
Are often written by scholars or experts in the field
Provide key people, places, events, and terms that you can use to refine your searches
Often offer suggestions for further reading

Handbook of Research on Children's and Young Adult Literature
This multidisciplinary handbook pulls together in one volume the research on children's and young adult literature which is currently scattered across three intersecting disciplines.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Literary and Critical Theory
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Especially relevant for this class are the encyclopedias for Latin American Studies and Literature
Race in American Literature and Culture
The book examines the hardening of racial fault lines throughout the nineteenth century and into the twentieth while considering aspects of the literary and interrelated traditions that emerged from this fractured cultural landscap
Routledge Handbook of Afro-Latin American Studies
This Handbook provides a comprehensive roadmap to the burgeoning area of Afro-Latin American Studies.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Race
The book is a comprehensive guide for scholars, students, and media professionals who seek to understand the key debates about the impact of media messages on racial attitudes and understanding.