Area Resource File/Area Health Resource File (ARF/AHRF)
https://data.hrsa.gov/topics/health-workforce/ahrf
The AHRF is a database of health resources data, measured at the county level for over 6,000 indicators. The information includes measures of employment in various health professions; availability of health facilities; and frequency of utilization; hospital and Medicare expenditures. Under normal circumstances, the database is freely available to download. If/when circumstances are not normal, historical releases of the database for 1998 onward are also available for download via the DataLumos project: https://doi.org/10.3886/E219145V1. Releases of the database for 1978-2020 are also available via the National Archives and Records Administration: https://catalog.archives.gov/id/571544.
Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST)
https://screeningtool.geoplatform.gov/
The White House Council on Environmental Quality created the CEJST tool to identify Census tracts that are disadvantaged due to burdens from climate change, energy, health, housing, legacy pollution, transportation, water and wastewater, and workforce development. The Public Environmental Data Partners have reconstructed the CEJST tool and made a version of the tool available via https://edgi-govdata-archiving.github.io/j40-cejst-2/en/#3/33.47/-97.5. The underlying data are available via https://edgi-govdata-archiving.github.io/j40-cejst-2/en/downloads and also via https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/B6ULET.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
https://dhsprogram.com/
The DHS is a project funded by the United States Agency for International Development to promote better gathering of survey data on health issues pertaining to family life and reproductive health in developing countries. Aggregated data from DHS surveys are readily accessible via the STATcompiler interface that allows for on-line visualization and for download in tabular form. The DHS Program also has a code library on GitHub that includes sample code to calculate common DHS indicators in R, SPSS, and Stata. Please note that the DHS Program is, at present, suspended and is not currently able to answer questions or process new requests for data access. Previously-approved users still have access to the data they requested via https://dhsprogram.com/Data/ or via https://www.idhsdata.org/idhs/. See https://youtu.be/EBirvFdF7Lo for a webinar from IPUMS Global for the current state of access to DHS data and for similar surveys that may be used as an alternative.
EJScreen: Environmental Justice and Mapping Tool
https://www.epa.gov/ejscreen
The Environmental Protection Agency's EJScreen "is an environmental justice mapping and screening tool that provides EPA with a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators." The data cover topics such as air quality, traffic proximity, environmental hazards, and waste and are at the level of Census block groups. See https://www.epa.gov/ejscreen/understanding-ejscreen-results for the available environmental and demographic data and constructed indices. There is a mapping tool for the data, and the data are also available for download. The Public Environmental Data Partners have reconstructed the EJScreen tool and made it available via https://screening-tools.com/epa-ejscreen. The underlying data for the site are available via Harvard's Dataverse. See https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/RLR5AX and https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/JISNPL.
Environmental Justice Index (EJI)
https://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/place-health/php/eji/
The CDC and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry have compiled the Environmental Justice Index, which "uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration, the U.S. Geological Survey, OpenStreetMap, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to rank the cumulative impacts of environmental injustice on health for every census tract." If/when circumstances are not normal, the EJI data are also available via the following locations: the SDOH and Place Project: https://sdohplace.org/search?query=justice&show=herop-oqxqog; the CAFE Climate and Health Research Coordinating Center Collection: https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/SP1YQY; the Harvard Environment and Law Data: https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/ZVKXVQ; and the PolicyMap Database and its Social Determinants of Health curated collection: https://guides.libraries.emory.edu/az/databases?q=policymap.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base
https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/hiv.html
The Census Bureau's HIV/AIDS Surveillance Database contains data on estimates of HIV/AIDS prevalence and is, to quote the website, "a compilation of information from those studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press." Note that the database is no longer being updated and is not currently active. You can access an archived copy of the database via https://web.archive.org/web/20240927203615/https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/hiv.html.
Social Determinants of Health (SDOH) Database
https://www.ahrq.gov/sdoh/data-analytics/sdoh-data.html
The SDOH Database from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provides data for "five key SDOH domains: social context (e.g., age, race/ethnicity, veteran status), economic context (e.g., income, unemployment rate), education, physical infrastructure (e.g, housing, crime, transportation), and healthcare context (e.g., health insurance). The files can be linked to other data by geography (county, ZIP Code, and census tract). The database includes data files and codebooks by year at three levels of geography, as well as a documentation file." The data are available for 2009 onward, with separate Excel files for separate years. If/when circumstances are not normal, the SDOH Database is also available via the DataLumos project: https://doi.org/10.3886/E220327V1 and https://doi.org/10.3886/E220762V1.
Social Vulnerability Index (SVI)
https://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/place-health/php/svi/index.html
The CDC and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry have compiled the Social Vulnerability Index, which measures "the resilience of communities (the ability to survive and thrive) when confronted by external stresses on human health, stresses such as natural or human-caused disasters, or disease outbreaks." The data are available in both .csv and GIS formats for counties and Census tracts and are constructed from American Community Survey data for topics such as socio-economic status, household composition, minority populations, housing types, and transportation access. If/when circumstances are not normal, SVI data are also available via the following locations: (1) DataLumos: https://doi.org/10.3886/E101771V1; (2) Harvard's Dataverse: https://doi.org/10.7910/DVN/MZF7XQ; (3) the SDOH and Place Project: https://emails.illinois.edu/newsletter/02/615978402.html; and the PolicyMap Database: https://guides.libraries.emory.edu/az/databases?q=policymap and its Social Determinants of Health curated collection.
Sources for Data on Social Determinants of Health (SDOH)
https://www.cdc.gov/places/social-determinants-of-health-and-places-data/
As part of its collection of resources on social determinants of health, the CDC has compiled a list of relevant data sources covering topics like chronic health conditions, environmental conditions and hazards, health care access and disparities, and socio-economic conditions/vulnerabilities. Archived copies of this site are available via the Internet Archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20250102014708/https://www.cdc.gov/places/social-determinants-of-health-and-places-data/ and https://web.archive.org/web/20221005233047/https://www.cdc.gov/socialdeterminants/data/.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrbs/index.htm
The YRBSS is similar to the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, but focuses specifically on adolescents. If/when circumstances are not normal, harmonized microdata from the YRBSS for the years 1991-2013 are also available via the IPUMS YRBSS Data, and annual national datasets are available via the Data Lumos project: https://doi.org/10.3886/E217921V1 and https://doi.org/10.3886/E220761V2.