Research Guides: AFS 190-2 / WGS 190-1: Freshman Seminar: African Studies: Humanitarian Interventions and Sexual Violence: Find Journal Articles

Recommended Databases

Use databases to find journal articles. Here are some recommended databases for this class:

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.

Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Africa Bibliography
Guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. Emphasis on English language materials.
Africa Knowledge Project
Africa Knowledge Project promotes Critical African Studies and disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora

The Africa Knowledge Project provides access to select African Studies journals • JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies • West Africa Review • Ijele: Art eJournal of the African World • ProudFlesh: New Afrikan Journal of Culture, Politics, and Consciousness • Journal on African Philosophy and Curated databases • African Music Database • Biafran war Database • Kiswahili Story Database • Enriching Resource on African Languages Database
Anthropology Plus
Covers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
GenderWatch
Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.

Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Women's Studies International
Collection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Women and Social Movements International
Contains primary sources on women's international activism since 1840.

African Journals Online - open access database that indexes scholarly African journals.

Getting Help

Getting personalized research assistance is easy! Librarians are available to help you in-person or via telephone, e-mail, and IM.

Face-to-face help is available at the Woodruff Service Desk on level 2. For our service hours, please see our current service desk hours.

Appointments with a subject specialist can be made by current Emory students, faculty and staff. To set up a consultation appointment with a subject librarian, see our Subject Librarian Directory. Reach out to the appropriate librarian by using the link in their bio to set up an appointment, or reach out to them by e-mail. If you do not see a liaison for your subject, please contact us using the e-mail form.

Call us by phone at 404-727-6873.

Or you can send us an instant message.