AP Research

To access EBSCO's Academic Search, go to your AP Digital Portfolio and click on AP Research. Find "Click here to access EBSCO" at the bottom of the page. 

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online. It is a project sponsored by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

"Through it you can potentially access over 150 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 7000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include an encyclopedia, business directories, a collection of over 10,000 full-text books and government publications."

How to I access it?

To access Galileo go to Gwinnett County Schools Galileo page.

How do you go from research interest to a researchable topic, suitable for AP research? 

If you're struggling, try following these steps from A Primer on How to Frame Researchable Questions:

Identify Your Research Interest:

• Considering Research You've Already Done: Develop a new topic from old research. 
• Draw from Your Own Interests: List your interests and then rank them. Look for good encyclopedia articles that provide an overview of your interest and point you to some suggested readings. 
• Think About Current Events: What's going on now that's important?
• Make a Note of Everyday Observations
• Draw from a Significant Personal Experience about an Event, Social Group or Place

Make Your Question Specific:

• If you want help on how to narrow your interest, consult Chapters 3 and 4 of the Craft of Research. Aim to complete the following formula:
• I am studying (x) because I want to know (y) in order to help readers understand (z).
• Another strategy is to think about the who, what, when and where of your topic. 

Explore Your Topic:

• Read Scholarly Literature
• Search for Data or Primary Sources if Applicable
• Look for Debates in the Literature