Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture This link opens in a new windowAccess material on Irish History and Culture including the Republic of Ireland an Northern Ireland. Contributions sourced from a wide variety of fields.
- Foclóir.ie: Foras na Gaeilge's New English-Irish DictionaryForas na Gaeilge's New English-Irish Dictionary was launched in 2013. The dictionary is available free of charge, and has been adapted to work both on desktop computers and on mobile devices. As well as translations for the English content, the dictionary also contains grammatical information and sound files.
- Historical Irish Corpus, 1600–1926You can search here for words and phrases in a range of over 3000 texts published in Irish between 1600 and 1926. Search results can be selected and words and phrases can be read in the context in which they were originally written.
- Téarma.ieThe National Terminology Database for Irish / An Bunachar Náisiúnta Téarmaíochta don Ghaeilge
Guides and Handbooks
A selection of guides and companions in Irish Studies, found in Emory Library's catalog.
The Blackwell Companion to Modern Irish Culture by ISBN: 9780631165255Publication Date: 1999-01-26
The Cambridge Companion to Irish Modernism by ISBN: 1139990047Publication Date: 2014-07-28
The Cambridge Companion to Irish Poets by ISBN: 1108333311Publication Date: 2017-11-09
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by ISBN: 9780199234837Publication Date: 2007-10-03
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Contemporary British and Irish Literature by ISBN: 9781118902264Publication Date: 2020-10-16
Also check out the Digital Literary Atlas of Ireland, 1922-1949, created by Trinity College Dublin. The atlas provides literary, historical and geo-spatial perspectives on Ireland from drawn from the works of selected Irish writers in the early twentieth century.
Bibliographies
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowContains bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth. Covers from 55 BC to the present.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. British and Irish Literature This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of British and Irish literature. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Biography
- Ainm.ieThere are 1,810 biographies on this site. All of the featured lives, from 1560 to the present day, had a connection to the Irish language.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new windowContains a large collection of biographical articles on subject in a wide variety of fields, including politics, law, literature, arts, and more.
- The Dictionary of Ulster BiographyThe Dictionary of Ulster Biography is the on-line successor to the 1993 edition, compiled by Kate Newmann and published in 1993 by the Institute of Irish Studies of the Queens University of Belfast. The Dictionary is about people associated with the historic nine counties of Ulster and includes those who were born here, or lived or worked here and who have distinguished themselves in some way. Many of them will be included in other biographical dictionaries. The aim where possible is to describe their lives and achievements from a local perspective.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAccess articles on noteworthy people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.