Streaming Recordings
- CHANGED MY NAME - Marking the 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation
Collection of Spirituals and other music relating to Emancipation; from the Naxos Music database. - Songs of Our Native Daughters
Songs of Our Native Daughters gathers together kindred musicians Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, and Allison Russell in song and sisterhood to communicate with their forebears. Drawing on and reclaiming early minstrelsy and banjo music, these musicians reclaim, recast, and spotlight the often unheard and untold history of their ancestors, whose stories remain vital and alive today. The material on Songs of Our Native Daughters, written and sung in various combinations, is inspired by New World slave narratives, discrimination and how it has shaped our American experience, as well as musicians such as Haitian troubadour Althiery Dorval and Mississippi Hill Country string player Sid Hemphill, and more. From the Naxos: World database. - Black, Brown, and Beige, performed by Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra
A 2018 performance of Duke Ellington's famous 1943 jazz suite; this suite's goal was to transform attitudes about race. From the Naxos: Jazz database. - Requiem for the Enslaved by Carlos Simon
A musical tribute to commemorate the stories of 272 enslaved men, women and children sold in 1838 by Georgetown University. Described as a 'rap opera', [the composer] infuses his original compositions with African American spirituals and familiar Catholic liturgical melodies. From Naxos: Music database - Frederick Douglass: My Bondage and My Freedom (Unabridged Audiobook))
From the Naxos: Spoken Word database. - I, Too, Sing America: Three Centuries of African American Poetry (Audiobook)
Collection of African American poetry, compiled by Catherine Clinton and read by Ashley Bryan and Renee Joshua-Porter. Includes "Liberty and Peace" by Phillis Wheatley and "On Liberty and Slavery" by George Moses Horton. From the Naxos: Spoken Word database - Freddie Douggie: Live on Juneteenth
Jazz album featuring music about emancipation and freedom. From the Naxos: Jazz database.