Skip to Main Content
 
 

ARS Summer Internships: Conservation

Guide to applying to ARS Summer Internships

Emory Libraries Conservation Internship

About the Program 

Emory Libraries Preservation Department offers a paid Conservation Internship focused on treating the Emory Libraries book and paper collections. Individuals from underrepresented communities who have a demonstrated interest in conservation are encouraged to apply. Applicants may be pre-program students pursuing training opportunities to learn and develop conservation treatment skills. Current students in a conservation graduate program, or recent graduates seeking to build and expand their skills, are equally encouraged to apply. 

Under the supervision of the Conservation Lab staff, the successful applicant will have opportunities to develop skills in treatment decision-making focused on practical techniques by performing a broad range of conservation treatments on library materials. The intern will gain exposure to the wider professional community through connections with conservators and collections in nearby organizations, conservation labs, museums, and private conservation practices. 

This program is on-site and may be full-time (maximum 40 hours per week) or part-time (less than 40 hours per week), earning $18.50/hour. Additionally, there may be limited funding available to support approved professional development opportunities like workshop attendance, conference participation, or professional organization membership fees. This internship opportunity is scheduled for June 3-August 9, 2024. 

Pre-Program Internship 
This internship will provide hands-on training in book and paper conservation, a better understanding of the conservation profession, and material to build a competitive portfolio for graduate school applications. The candidate will treat Emory Libraries collection material and develop a wide variety of conservation skills for the application process.  

Graduate Internship  
This internship will broaden and deepen skills in book and paper conservation to prepare the intern for the professional field. Current students and recent conservation program graduates will gain important work experience through treatment of Emory Libraries collection material.  The intern will complete advanced conservation treatments, learn from experienced colleagues, and participate in the Conservation Lab operations. Based on applicant interest, this may include a research project.

 About Emory Libraries 

Emory Libraries, ranked among the top 20 Association of Research Libraries (ARL) in North America, includes collections of more than 5.8 million volumes, 430,000 electronic journals, over 1.8 million electronic books, and internationally renowned special collections. The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Books Library is home to over 200,000 volumes and 21,000 linear feet of manuscript material. The Rose Library collections span more than 800 years of history, with particular focus on modern literature and poetry, African American history and culture, political, social, and cultural movements, and the University Archives. 

 Requirements 

 Candidates will: 

  • Identify as a person from an underrepresented community in the conservation field 

  • Have a demonstrated interest in book and paper conservation 

  • Be currently enrolled or have completed an undergraduate degree 

  • Be currently enrolled or recently completed a graduate degree from a conservation program 

  Interested Applicants will apply with the following: 

  • Resume/CV

  • Cover Letter

  • Specified level of internship 

  • Description of interest in conservation 

  • Explanation of desired learning outcomes and/or benefits from participating in this internship 

  • Indication of a need for the paid housing option (this can be a phrase at the end of the cover letter) 

  • Graduate applicants must include 3-5 examples of previous treatments (coursework projects may be submitted) 

  • Contact information of 3 references from current or previous mentors, professor, or employers 

  

Submit documents as a single PDF to Ephranette Brown at ephranette.brown@emory.edu 

Application Deadline: March 8, 2023 

Decisions will be rendered no later than by March 29, 2024.