Research Guides: African American Human Rights Struggle (Main): Background Information

Handbooks & Companions

To find companions, handbooks, or bibliographies related to African American Studies you can use library search; however, individual articles can be hard to find. Also try searching the portals to these resources below.

Oxford Bibliographies, annotated bibliographies that provide a gateway to research in particular subfields of African American Studies.

Cambridge Companions, guides to various African American Studies topics.

Routledge Handbooks, book-length companions to various topics.

Oxford Handbooks, reviews of scholarly literature.

Annual Reviews Online, reviews of scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences.

Encyclopedias & Biographical Databases

The databases below contain overviews of topics that can help shape your research.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Resources related to prominent U.S. policy topics.
Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new window
Contains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Contains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Content of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Access wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief.