Article Databases
AFRICAN STUDIES DATABASE
- Africa-Wide InformationAccess multidisciplinary bibliographic databases from around the world. Produced by NCIS South Africa, materials focus on Africa and African studies.
DEVELOPMENT STUDIES DATABASES
- ELDIS Gateway to Development InformationAccess resources for global development research. Includes reports, papers, case studies, policy briefings, and more. Includes selected materials for development practitioners, and wide ranging country profiles.
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) IndexIndexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915 onward.
ECONOMICS & POLITICAL SCIENCE DATABASES
- EconLit with Full TextAccess a wide variety of economics-related literature. Includes indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, and covers both economic theory and application.
- Political Science CompleteContains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
Get Article Full Text
When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.
Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)
Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button 
leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)
Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks.
- Search the journal title in Library Search. You can limit your search using "Journals" in the drop-down below the search box.
- When you find the record for the journal, click the "Locate/Request Item" tab to see what volumes we have.
- If you find your volume and it's located in the library you are in, you can use the call number to find the volume in the bookstacks.
- If you find your volume and it's located at a different library or the Library Service Center, you can request the volume if you log in to Library Search (use "Log In" at top right of Library Search). Another option is to request just the article you need using the "Request Article or Chapter" tab in discoverE -- if available. This will give you the option of getting the article scanned for you.
Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. (Click the "Locate/Request Item" tab and then "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to have the request form pre-filled for you.)
Scenario 5: If you are using Google Scholar - search the title of the JOURNAL in the Library Search Catalog to see if Emory has electronic or paper copies of that magazine.