Research Guides: German : Articles

Search Tips

Searching in Databases

When searching in databases Do NOT search for phrases -- use individual keywords instead.

For example:

A bad search would be how did German women advocate for suffrage in the 19th century. A better search would be women AND suffrage AND Germany.

In searching you can combine search terms using AND, OR , or NOT to search for items. Using these will help you craft more specific search results.

Multilingual Searching

Tips for for searching for non-english literature:

Pay attention to the database you are searching. Typically the databases description will indicate if the databases is using a non-english language interface, if that is the case you will want to search in that language. This will include your operators, for example if your searching in a German database you would use UND instead of AND.
Most databases will allow you to use another language to search, but be aware that returned results are those that match that specific term. The database will not match it to its translation in English.
Some databases will have subjects terms in multiple languages, but not all, to determine if your database does, see its help page.
Filter your results by language. Filter your results by language after you search rather than before you search.
You can enter queries in multiple languages and join them using english operators.

German Studies Databases

EZB: Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek This link opens in a new window
A service provided and maintained by the University Library of Regensburg. It provides access to many German-language journal titles and to the full text of some, though not all, scholarly articles.

Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum Schriften
A digital project sponsored by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft and run by the Universität Bielefeld with search capabilities and full text of 160 journals from the German Enlightenment and subsequent literary periods. It currently contains 118.250 articles amounting to approx. 967,000 pages.

Zeitschriften-Datenbank (ZDB) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest specialized database for serial titles (journals, annuals, newspapers, e-journals). The ZDB contains more than 1.5 million bibliographic records of serials from the 16th century onwards, from all countries, in all languages, held in 4300 German (and some foreign) libraries, with 8.7 million holdings information. It does not contain contents, i. e. journal articles
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of German literature and literary studies. The period from 1985 to 2009 is freely available online. As Bibliography database this database might not full text articles, but does provide bibliographic information that can be used to obtain scholarly essays.
This databases has only German interface.Utilize its search tips for help searching in German.

General Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.