Research Guides: HIST385 Women's History 1800 to 1900: Newspapers, Books & Broadsides

Newspapers & Periodicals

America's Historical Newspapers
Large online collection of historic American newspapers.
American Periodicals Series (APS)
Historically significant periodicals from the 18th and 19th century.
America's Historical Imprints
Digital collection of early American imprints, broadsides and ephemera. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections: Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922; American Broadsides and Ephemera; Evans, 1639-1800; Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Access the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Prominent themes include gender, social history, economics, media, politics and more. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
Godey`s Lady`s Book This link opens in a new window
Access publications of Godey’s magazine, a popular 19th century women’s magazine that was published from 1830 to 1898. Part of the Accessible Archives database.

Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
Collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the 1500s to the early 1900s. Focuses on original accounts of discovery and exploration, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and more.